Mind your beeswax homemade lotion

Ladies (and some gentlemen), I have a confession: I am allergic to a lot of ‘products’ out there.  While I know I don’t live alone in my plight with extremely sensitive skin, it’s a real pain in the a^^ when I buy nice things only to use them and break out in massive hives, rashes, and other unpleasant side effects.  Things that should be enjoyable, like a massage, are less so because whatever creams those great folks use I’m allergic too.  However, I know this when I make the appointments and immediately shower when I get home.  One area of my life that is a pain is also easy.  Since I’m allergic to soaps, lotions, detergents, anything from Bath & Body Works, cheap stuff, expensive stuff, and air freshener anything, shopping is super easy. Even things labeled “hypoallergenic” are no match for my largest organ, my dermis. I have no future as a make up tester unless I get really awesome health insurance. On the flip side, it takes me a long time to find things that do work or don’t make me explode.  I started this journey as a child when my whole body swelled up and eyes closed, later in college when I found out I was allergic to laundry detergent when my throat closed and I had to visit the ER, and as I continue to age.  I keep a running prescription of epi-pens, steroid creams, pills, and other things in my personal arsenal. I have found products that work through trial and error and if anyone reading this wants a bunch of really nice bottles of lotions, please let me know.  PIC doesn’t use lotion, but he is the proud recipient of shampoos, body washes, and other products that I boot off my personal beauty island. He also smells real good ;~).

Lotion is something I have been trying to catch like a herd of cats for years.  I find one that doesn’t bother me and about a year later, the ‘chemicals’ change and my skin explodes yet again. I have resorted to homemade lotion out of necessity at this point and this one is a winner.  It’s thick, making it good to apply at night before bed, and I added some essential oils for my own benefit.  The best part: I’m not allergic to it.  I have bombed batches of homemade lotion but was not ready to throw in the towel.  I also had all of the ingredients for this batch, having to only go purchase some more olive oil, a regular cooking ingredient in the house.

I followed the recipe posted by A Sonoma Garden and said a secret prayer for better results this time around.  What’s the worst that could happen? More trial and error?

You’ll need:

  • 1 c. olive oil
  • 1/2 c. coconut oil
  • 1/2 c. beeswax (I buy mine at the local organic shop.  if using solid beeswax use 2 oz.)
  • 1/2 t. Vitamin E oil (or about 5 capsules cut open and squeezed out)(optional)
  • 20 drops (approximately) essential oil (optional) i chose citrus
  1. Combine olive oil, coconut oil and beeswax pastilles into a pint sized canning jar.
  2. Put this jar into a saucepan and fill the saucepan with water until it comes 3/4 of the way up the canning jar, being careful not to get water into the oil mixture.
  3. Put on the stove over medium/low heat. Heat and stir occasionally until melted.
  4. Let cool to room temperature either by leaving out or quicken the process by putting into the refrigerator.
  5. During the cooling process, put a fork into the jar and stir vigorously every 15 minutes or so.
  6. Once at room temperature, add in the Vitamin E and essential oil. That’s it. You have lotion!

What do you do to combat sensitive skin in your house?  Any products that are your favorites?  

4 thoughts on “Mind your beeswax homemade lotion

  1. Pingback: Blushing Cheek Soap + Soap For YOU! | Domesticated Academic

  2. My husband also has a chemical allergy. Mostly detergents, steroids, metals and preservatives that are found in everything. Started making my own products, lotion is one that I am trying to make now. Sorry about your allergy but nice to see I’m not the only one out there.

  3. Pingback: Homemade Brown Sugar Scrub | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

