Crayon Art

Thanks to pinterest and the fact that I found the canvas (12×12) at Big Lots for a mere $6, I was motivated to make my own crayon art.  CraftyMommy had a great tutorial on this issue, so I decided that a cheap skate like me could do it and not lose track of it.

You’ll need:

  • Canvas–any hobby shop, you might get lucky like me, maybe a 40% off coupon at Michael’s will be better
  • Crayons (I purchased 2 boxes of 24 crayloas and then went back and bought 2-eight packs {the basic box})
  • Hot glue gun
  • Glue sticks (this size took one full mini sized stick
  • Hair dryer
  • Towel/tarp/some kind of floor covering to protect from flying wax

Ok? Ready?

I would recommend (b/c I lack focus and ability to organize sometimes) laying out the crayons in the color pattern you desire.  I’ve seen some really cool crayon art in all different color schemes.  Blues to look like rain, greens/browns w/ flowers on the tops, etc… so you decide.  I figured that for my first one, I’d go primary colors.

Who wants the leftover crayons???? ;~)

Plug that glue gun in and get it hot.  I used the glue gun and made three strips of glue in about one inch increments.  I did this for a few reasons:

  1. The glue wouldn’t get hard and I could put about three crayons down quickly.
  2. Three strips of glue sure beat trying to lay a line of glue on the back of each crayon ‘perfectly.’ if you follow this blog for long, you’ll learn ‘perfect’ isn’t my thing….
  3. It made sense to me in my head at the time.

Let them sit for an hour or so to make sure the glue is good and dry.  All crayons on board? Time to get ’em hot!

I put down an old bath towel that had been reduced to dog drying, mopping up messes, and other menial (yet important) tasks.  I plugged the dryer into an outlet and sat right down on the floor close to my work.

I worked L-R and it took a few minutes for the crayons to get melty. I targeted the dryer into the bottom part of the crayon and as the heat began to break the wax down, I tilted the canvas to help direct the traffic flow of the wax.

Like Dory in Finding Nemo, “just keep swimming” or in this case: just keep drying…..

I went w/ the horizontal rotation and found some cute owl stickers for the finished product.

Leave a Reply

