The green monster (smoothie)

The ‘green monster’ doesn’t just live in Boston, it’s in my kitchen.  Every day. Except for weekend egg days 🙂

I don’t know about the rest of you but there is one fact that I’m happy to share: I’m losing weight and trying to lose more.  So, basically I’m like the whole population at any given time. I joined WW over the summer and lost 15 lbs. on it.  I stopped tracking religiously and stopped paying after the new year.  I started using myfitnesspal instead so I could still have something to answer too.  I have lost a few more lbs. on that.

My biggest struggles with weight loss are also similar to most of the population: portion size, snacking, emotional eating, and night eating. After completing my dissertation, I realized it was time (and I had the time) to do something more to take care of myself, so here we are.  Still going strong.  A lb. lost is a lb. lost and keeping them off is key.  After about six months, I’m happy to report the following:

  • my clothes are too big/have been replaced in many instances
  • i have more energy
  • my yoga skills are improving through practice
  • my endurance is better
  • i feel better when i look in the mirror (naked)

So, not too bad.  One thing that has kept me going: this monster smoothie.  I found the recipe and started to model it and have learned how to make it my own.

Here’s what you’ll need

Serves 1

5 min.

Blender

  • 1/2-1 c. of frozen fruit (the picture has strawberries and peaches I froze at my home)
  • 1/2 c. greek yogurt or regular yogurt
  • 1/2 c. Kefir or milk
  • 1/2 c. coconut water or water (this will thin down the mixture, all of the above make it thick so add as needed)
  • 1 T. nutella or peanut butter
  • 2-4 c. spinach

Add ingredients from the top of the list down.  You can add as much spinach as it will take! Blend it all up!  You may have to add a bit more water/milk to thin it a bit. You may also have to stop the blender, take the lid off, and stir it around to get all of the spinach to blend and pulverize.  Fill your glass or “on the go” iced coffee mug and voila! Breakfast of champions.  I take this out the door with me and sip on it most of the morning.  Keeps me full, keeps me from snacking and other mindless eating, and my stomach doesn’t start to growl until later.  This shake has about 350 cals for 24 ounces, so it’s a pretty healthy, filling, and ideal way to start your day!

*disclaimer* no, this doesn’t look that ‘good’ but I assure you, it is!  As my boss says, “I don’t know what’s in it, but keep on drinking it!”

Changes and substitutions can include: any frozen fruit you want, freeze your own fruit at home to save $$–slice, chop, core whatever you want, freeze it, and then bag it up for later use.  I froze peaches at their peak over the summer and am enjoying them now.

You can add/omit the peanut butter for some extra protein.  I like nutella b/c it tastes like heaven……Don’t like or want the probiotics in Kefir?  Fine. Use milk, soy, almond or skip the extra dairy and go w/ coconut water or regular h2o.  I do NOT recommend fruit juices as they have a high sugar content and will add quite a few calories.

Stuff as much spinach in that blender.  Spinach is too good for you and if you’re like me, never getting enough veggies, this is a good way to pack some more into your day.

Make it for the kids.  You can make it fun, putting it in fun cups, topping with one of those little umbrella’s, or fun ice cubes from custom molds.  You get the idea…..

Enjoy!

One thought on “The green monster (smoothie)

  1. Pingback: Crustless ham-n-cheese quiche | Tasty, beautiful, fun!

Leave a Reply

