Inside out pizza

Pizza Friday. Not religion, but certainly tradition. Each Friday, PIC and I take turns creating/buying/ordering something that resembles pizza.  It’s like a cheesy celebration that another week has passed, we both went into it kicking and screaming and emerged like a tired child…exhausted.  (that’s how i describe it).

Truth: I love pizza.  Who doesn’t?  I have met few–mostly folks with wheat allergies–I can understand their contempt for pizza….

Until that day comes, I will eat my pizza. Weight watchers has helped me understand what portions are and what kinds of ingredients that I should or should not be using, but here’s where I stand my ground: CHEESE. I don’t care what anyone says about ‘low-fat’ or ‘fat free’ cheese in block form.  To me: it tastes like crap.  I can do low fat sour cream, cream cheese, and other soft cheese (not brie–low fat has a weird melting thing…) but not when it comes to aged hard(er) cheese.  Give me the fat, I’ll work out in return.  Mozzarella can be part skim, low moisture, etc… but don’t change it up too much on me.  I’ll know.  Trust me.  You can thank my dairy farm upbringing.  My picky palette over dairy started out early in life.  Whole, unpasteurized, unhomogenized milk was the only thing on our table.

So, here we go: inside out pizza!

You’ll need

Serves 4

  • 1ball of pizza dough* (or make your own)
  • Small block of low moisture mozzerella cheese, cubed
  • Pizza toppings of your choice: ie, ham and pineapple, pepperoni slices, sausage, etc.
  • 2 T grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 T olive oil or melted butter (I used a misto)
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 1 t dried Italian seasoning
  • marinara/pizza sauce
  • 1 pie plate–sprayed with non-stick spray

Roll out pizza dough on a lightly floured surface to around 12×8″–you’ll want about 24 little pizzas out of this. Slice it up with a pizza cutter, quick and easy.  Place your cubes of cheese and toppings in the middle of each square/rectangle, usually a cube of cheese and small pieces of topping will do.  If you can’t close it, it’s too much.

When you’re squares are all occupied, take a flat spatula to help peel them off the countertop.  Seal each square of dough up using your fingers and put it seam side down in the pie plate.

Spray with more olive oil or brush with oil/butter.  Sprinkle tops of pizza with garlic, italian seasoning, and parmesan cheese.  Put in a 400 degree oven for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

Warm up some sauce and pull them out of the oven.  You should probably wait for a few minutes to cool down the molten cheese, but some of you might like your tongue burned.  In that case, enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

