Skinless chicken

By the middle of the week, the leftovers from the weekend are gone, I’m exhausted and putting myself to bed earlier and earlier and working later and later…..last night, I didn’t even make it to 10 p.m….pitiful, but I got into bed and probably didn’t make it two minutes until it was ‘lights out.’

The same can be said for food and creative time.  We get so busy!!!!!!!

I know that if you’re reading this, you’re in love with your crock pot too.  I know I am.  I’ve had a crock pot since I was about 18 and got a new one a few years ago with a digital timer.  Amen!  I highly recommend these and of course, if you’ve got an older one, keep on using it, but one with a timer is nice to have….

The other thing I make clear: I’m trying to keep losing those pounds!  I love this dish for several reasons.  #1. It’s crock pot chicken. #2. It’s skinless, making it less fatty. #3 The bone in helps keep things moist no matter how long you neglect your crock pot. #4. The chicken comes out great and you can use it for anything! I like mixing it with vegetables, adding seasoning for tacos, dumping some dressing on it for sandwiches, the list is pretty much endless….

I think white meat can get a bit dry for my own personal taste but please, make this to your liking.

You’ll need:

5 minutes + crock pot time

Serves ????

  • 1 package bone in chicken thighs (i used a 4-pack)
  • 1 c. chicken stock
  • 1/4 medium onion-rough cut
  • 1/2 bell pepper-rough cut
  • salt/pepper

Remove the thighs from their wrappings and skin them.  It should pull off quite easily.  Put them into the crockpot.  Pour stock over them.  Add onion, bell pepper, and salt/pepper.  Cover and put on high for 4-5 hours.  They can be nice and tender in as little as 3 if you’re in a pinch.

When they’re done, let them cool a bit before separating bone from meat, although they should separate pretty easily considering the magical time they just spent in the crock pot.

Enjoy!

*the liquid makes excellent stock. you can fine chop or slice the veggies if you want to use them again in the ‘main dish.’ the stock will freeze well if you want it but not just now.

3 thoughts on “Skinless chicken

  1. Pingback: Stovetop mac & cheese | Tasty, beautiful, fun!

  2. Pingback: Very veggie lo mein | Tasty, beautiful, fun!

  3. Pingback: Chicken Enchilada Bake | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

