DC-all about the cupcake

I love DC.  I lived there for a stint a few years ago. I love that there’s always something to do, something to see, something to eat, lots of amazing photos to take, and the history. I don’t love the traffic, noise, and city water.

That being said, I enjoy the fact that I can visit for a few days and then return to the refuge of the quiet country.

I was up in DC on a recent trip and will be back again in a few weeks for work.  All work and no play make for one boring trip, so I always try to sneak a few hours here and there to see what’s happening in our nations capital.

Cupcakes have become an obsession of American culture (some parts of it anyway) and while I didn’t get over to Georgetown in time for some Georgetown cupcake, I did manage to get to Hello Cupcake before closing one evening.  Located in DuPont Circle, Hello Cupcake serves up lots of flavors in beautiful cases.  Even though it was the end of the day, there was still six or seven flavors left and the staff was friendly.

I picked a peanut butter blossom and raspberry beret.

My cupcakes were put in a ‘to go’ box since I managed to get there with about 15 minutes to spare before closing time.  Hello Cupcake! Cute box for some extra special treats!

My first selection was the peanut butter kiss cupcake.

The frosting was light with just enough peanut butter flavor without being heavy.  The cupcake underneath it was firm and chocolatey good.  The kiss on top: showing off 🙂

The raspberry buttercream was delightful. Hands down.

If you get to DC, hop on the metro and go find yourself some cupcakes!

One thought on “DC-all about the cupcake

Leave a Reply

