Easter wreath

I saw this online and fell in l-o-v-e with it….and then I thought: “I can do this. No problem-o.” I’ll make a super cute spring wreath that’s not totally Easter but highlights spring time!  Fresh colors, felt flowers, awesome!

Then, I was shopping and saw this:

and proceeded to think, “that’s super cute too! how can i merge them to make something equally awesome?”

I took my bad self to the craft store and spent about 30 minutes picking out a soft yellow yarn, complimentary felt colors, and so on….took me two more weeks to find eggs that I liked.  There was a lot of choices at Target:

And then I got home and started wrapping this beast.  #patience.

 I ended up doing three layers of yarn for what I felt as though was ‘good coverage’ and was happy after layer three.  You can do this, it’s a great activity for kids too.  I made the flowers out of felt, which I already blogged about and overall, this was a nice project for me.  While I like immediate results, I also realize that this makes me blow through projects rather quickly.

You’ll need:

  • 1 wreath made of styrofoam
  • 1 big ball of yarn, mine was equivalent to two skeins (one skein is probably more than enough too, lots leftover)
  • hot glue gun
  • felt flowers or other decorations
  • some patience to wrap the yarn, the rest goes pretty smoothly w/ your friend, “HOT GLUE GUN”
Wrap that sucker until you’re happy.  I proceeded to wrap some ribbon to add some more texture.  Finally: felt flowers and plastic eggs. Life is good. Voila! Enjoy your spring wreath!

Leave a Reply

