Summer recipe week: Lovely lemon curd

This is it! The final recipe for summer recipe week!  I hope you’ve found at least one recipe you want to try this week!  Lovely lemon curd will round out a week of hot weather treats that you can make with minimal stove/oven time!

I never liked lemon as a child.  My Mema (grandmother) used to love it. I shunned it from my life. Until I became an adult. Now, I love it. Not every day, although I do put lemon in my water, but I love a good lemon dessert.

Homemade lemon curd is something I’ve been thinking about for a while. The Wicked Noodle had a delightful recipe for a stove top and microwave recipe.   I opted for the stove top recipe this time and I would like to just say one thing about this, “YUM!” Smooth, silky, lemon-tastic-ness. Is that a word?  I don’t care right now, my mouth is full of lemon curd. I later made the microwave recipe after eating the first batch in record time. The results were equally delightful.

I had plans to make something with this but found it so good, I ate it like pudding. Sorry weight loss plan, I will not feel guilty about this one, it’s divine.  In less than half an hour, you can be on your way to this delightful treat.  You could do all kinds of lovely things with this stuff: add it to vanilla ice cream, make it into a layered dessert, pair it with some ricotta cheese and put it on fresh bread, or model my outstanding behavior and eat it from the bowl standing next to the fridge.

This first recipe comes from Fine Cooking
  • 3 oz. (6 Tbs.) unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. grated lemon zest
  1. In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer, about 2 min.
  2. Slowly add the eggs and yolks. Beat for 1 min. Mix in the lemon juice. The mixture will look curdled, but it will smooth out as it cooks.
  3. In a medium, heavy-based saucepan, cook the mixture over low heat until it looks smooth. (The curdled appearance disappears as the butter in the mixture melts.) Increase the heat to medium and cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens, about 15 minutes. It should leave a path on the back of a spoon and will read 170°F on a thermometer. Don’t let the mixture boil.
  4. Remove the curd from the heat; stir in the lemon zest. Transfer the curd to a bowl. Press plastic wrap on the surface of the lemon curd to keep a skin from forming and chill the curd in the refrigerator. The curd will thicken further as it cools. Covered tightly, it will keep in the refrigerator for a week and in the freezer for 2 months.
3 thoughts on “Summer recipe week: Lovely lemon curd

  1. Pingback: Lemon-licious lemon bars | Tasty, beautiful, fun!

  2. Pingback: Lemon Cream Cheese Cake | Domesticated Academic

  3. Pingback: Lemon Coconut Bars | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

