Strawberry salad

The only time of year I like salad: summer. The greens are fresh. The rest of the year, it better be one heck of a lettuce for me to eat it or topped with a lot of good stuff (making it terrible for anyone nutritionally).  I like spinach salads too. But in regards to lettuce mix: summer.

Strawberry salad is a favorite.  The local grocery store puts it in their fresh bar and occasionally I buy it.  It’s easy to replicate. Promise.  Add some protein for a packed meal or sliced almonds for some extra crunch.  You’ll love this salad.

I’d like to give this post a blogger ‘shout out’ to a Historic Virginia Plantation–who follow me and remind me of my fattening, calorie laden foods that I produce in my humble kitchen….while I have shared my journey to maintain a healthier lifestyle, sometimes it tastes too good not to make!  This post is for you VA Plantation–omit the goat cheese and it will be the healthiest thing across your lips! 😀

You’ll need:

  • Greens of choice
  • Fresh strawberries, sliced
  • Red or white onions, sliced thin
  • Goat cheese or other crumbly cheese, blue cheese is also very good
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  1. Assemble salad ingredients. Greens on the bottom and top with berries, onions, and cheese.
  2. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and olive oil.
  3. Salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Strawberry salad

    • we’ve been getting them fresh every week for a few weeks now…total love! made homemade sorbet with the fruit from our CSA last week! yum! (no sugar added)

Leave a Reply

