Marshmallow cream cupcakes

 

“You had me at marshmallow….”

Usually, I’m not a big fan of marshmallow fluff. I think it’s something you ‘grow out of’ as you get older, but I will say one thing in defense of fluff: “It makes some really good freaking cupcake filling.”

I kind of want to roll in it when I make a batch of this cream filling up. I never have rolled in it, but dang it, I might some day. Anyway….back to the task at hand…..cupcakes……I was prompted to make these when PIC wanted to have a couple over for a cook-out. Always looking for an excuse to make dessert, I did not hesitate to stand in the grocery store with my phone browser hunting and pecking for something yummy. The couple likes chocolate so that was a no-brainer. The rest…..now that took a few minutes to sort out.

I used my “go-to” of the hungry girl recipe of devils food cake mixed with non-fat yogurt. I figured the stick of butter I used to make the filling was a sufficient amount of artery-clogging-goodness. Honestly, I don’t miss anything in the cupcakes with the yogurt. I have never once sat there and thought, ” eggs and oil, I really miss you……” Nope, never. I used Martha Stewart’s recommendation on fluff vs. butter ratio, I did find that the manufacturer is only selling 7 oz. jars of fluff or the super huge jar, so I purchased a smaller (7 oz.) jar and it turned out just fine. Keep these in the fridge until ready to serve, the fluffy frosting will stay set up in whatever nifty decorating you do!

You’ll need:

  • 1 package of devils food cake mix
  • 1 c. non-fat greek yogurt
  • 1. c. water
  • 1 1/2 cups marshmallow creme (7-ounce jar)
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  1. Prepare the cake mix combining the mix, yogurt, and water with a whisk until combined.
  2. Fill cupcake tin or liners and bake at 350 degrees F for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  3. Let the cupcakes cool.
  4. Once cupcakes are cool, use the round end of a wooden spoon or another round object to poke a hole in the middle of each cupcake, going down about 2/3 of the way.
  5. In a medium bowl, whisk marshmallow creme and butter until smooth.
  6. Chill until slightly firm, 15 to 30 minutes.
  7. Transfer mixture to a heavy-duty resealable plastic bag, and seal; cut off one corner of the bag to make a 1/8-inch opening.
  8. Put the cut end of the bag into each hole and fill with frosting.
  9. Decorate tops of cupcakes with remaining frosting.
  10. I would recommend a double batch of frosting in order to fill and frost them, but that’s up to you.
  11. Enjoy! Keep the leftovers in the fridge.
Leave a Reply

