June is dairy month: baked cilantro corn

I love sweet corn.  The only way I could possibly think to make this recipe any better: super fresh sweet corn from my parents’ fields on the farm….that would make this the perfect June is dairy month recipe.  No joke. Which leads me to my random dairy cow fact of the day-it takes 10 lbs. of milk to make one lb. of cheese and 12 lbs. of milk to make a gallon of ice cream.  Boom–two facts in one day.  Lucky day for everyone…

Onto the recipe.  I adapted this from the Pioneer Woman and it has turned out just fine numerous times.  She adds heavy cream to hers and you know what? I rarely keep heavy cream around.  I keep 2% milk around. And butter.  In my world, there is no substitute.  This recipe would give an extra kick with some cayenne pepper added but I like it with lots of black pepper, a little salt, milk, butter, and chopped cilantro when it comes out of the oven.

You’ll need:

35 minutes

Serves 2-4

  • 1 package of frozen sweet corn
  • 2 T. butter
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • 2 tsp. chopped cilantro
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Put corn into oven safe dish.
  3. Put butter on top–if cold, dice into small cubes and spread over the corn dotting it.
  4. Sprinkle salt and pepper over corn
  5. Pour milk into dish
  6. Cook for 20-25 minutes uncovered.
  7. Once removed from the oven, mix in cilantro.
  8. Serve hot.
One thought on “June is dairy month: baked cilantro corn

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Thanksgiving Sides | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

