2 ingredient nutella cake

I had wanted to try this cake for a while (months) and had pinned it on Pinterest with the thought of doing so.  Today is the day…..

Nutella is a gift from our friends overseas.  I had my first Nutella when I was traveling abroad during my undergraduate days….while I don’t remember the moment it hit my lips, I remember the lasting impression it made.  I couldn’t find it for a while once returning and over the years, it has gained popularity and now everyone and their brother sells it.  I’m not complaining 😀

Kirbiecravings did not let me down with this recipe and it was easy as….pie? Or cake? It’s flourless, gluten free, and very easy to put together.

You’ll need:

  • 4 eggs
  • 8 1/2 ounces Nutella (weigh this out on a scale)

directions:

  1. Grease a 6 or 7 inch round springfoam pan. Spray the bottom with non-stick spray. Then line with parchment paper on sides and on bottom.
  2. Preheat oven to 350F. Beat eggs on highest speed with mixer until about triple in volume, about 6 minutes.
  3. Measure out Nutella into a glass bowl.
  4. Microwave Nutella for about 20 seconds to make it softer.
  5. Add in 1/3 of the egg mixture. Stir with a spatula in the same clockwise direction until all of the egg is mixed in and no streaks remain. Then add another 1/3 of egg mixture and fold again until no egg streaks remain.
  6. Pour in remaining third and make sure to scrape the foam that sticks to the mixing bowl into the batter and stir until no streaks remain.
  7. Pour batter into springfoam pan.
  8. Bake for 20-25 minutes until knife inserted comes out clean. Let cake cool before cutting and serving.
One thought on “2 ingredient nutella cake

  1. Pingback: Butter Toffee | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

