Greek yogurt egg & avocado salad

Ah yes, egg salad…. a perennial summer favorite as well as a mainstay after Easter when there’s a lot of hard boiled eggs that have been hunted.  Creamy, eggy, yolky, tasty with fresh bread, crisp lettuce and with creamy avocado. I used Chobani non-fat greek yogurt and a little bit of mayonnaise and didn’t miss the all mayo at all.  In fact, I think I enjoyed it more because it was creamier without being so heavy. This is gluten free, healthier and friendly to vegetarians who are egg eaters.  The greek yogurt and lemon juice amped up the ‘tang factor’ and the only thing I added was some sirachi hot sauce.  I think I put it on everything though so I left this out of the actual recipe. The avocado was a nice addition with the creamy texture and the health benefits we read/see all of the time.  I just like avocado’s and would generally eat them every day if I had a plentiful supply at my disposal.

I am finding 1,000 ways to incorporate more greek yogurt into my diet, giving me some calcium and protein that I would not otherwise be getting.  My run with greek yogurt also includes strawberry greek yogurt coffee cake and greek yogurt lemon raspberry bread if you’re looking for some more inspiration. Don’t worry, this won’t be the last you’ll see of greek yogurt.  Now if I could only figure out how to remove more carbs from my mac & cheese…. ;~)

I also went discount shopping and scored some new plates and serving dishes.  TJ Maxx is getting all of their ‘college’ stuff in and apparently nice dishes aren’t on any college student lists this year so the plates were $1 a piece and the adorable serving bowls (meant for dips and prep) were also $1 a piece.  I bought a few new plates and another set of small bowls that you’ll see popping up in future posts.  I also looked at the local good will shops over the weekend but nothing suited me, even at 25 and 50 cents a piece.  I buy new things not only for the blog but for every day use as well.  Kind of like growing up on the farm and showing cows.  A cow might be pretty but she has to make a lot of milk to stay in the herd.  I feel the same way about kitchen items.  It might be pretty but it better serve its’ purpose too! All the things I bought are dishwasher and microwave safe–two prerequisites to get in put in my basket, go through the checkout, and land in my cupboards.

On with the delicious egg salad…..

You’ll need:

serves 2

  • 2 whole hard boiled eggs
  • 2 hard boiled egg whites
  • 1 medium avocado, cut & cubed
  • 1/4 c. onion chopped
  • 3 oz. non-fat plain greek yogurt
  • 1-2 TBS. mayonnaise
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • salt/pepper
  • hot sauce like sirachi (if you want)
  1. Cut and chop eggs, egg whites, onion, avocado and put in a mixing bowl.
  2. Add lemon to keep the avocado fresh
  3. Add yogurt, mayonnaise, and salt and pepper.
  4. Mix and serve immediately.

I’ll keep scavenging while you enjoy some egg salad.  Where do you find dishes and other service ware for blogging? Do you dress your scene before you shoot?  What tips would you share with other bloggers about presenting food?

2 thoughts on “Greek yogurt egg & avocado salad

Leave a Reply

