POWER muffins: blueberry+oatmeal+yogurt=POWER

Yeah, I said it, POWER muffin baby.  Greek yogurt, blueberries, and oatmeal will have you a POWER breakfast. Chobani for the W-I-N again! Perhaps it’s the Olympics that have me all excited, perhaps it’s the love I have for not using oil in baked goods, perhaps I just like to bake. No matter the reason, these muffins are packed with goodness from the greek yogurt, the fresh berries, and the power boost with whole oats. I enjoy some carbs with breakfast and these are a nice change from my typical morning routine.  My everyday ‘menu’ is usually hard boiled egg whites, a slice or two of homemade bread or toast, and a fresh peach or whatever is in season.  And a giant iced coffee during the summer. It’s quick, I boil eggs on Sunday’s so I can spend more time online before I go to work.  It’s not the most exciting thing, but it’s quick, healthy, and I don’t “stray” on my healthier lifestyle track if I have a planned menu.

Fruit is in season at the moment, so I’m being spoiled with a plethora of fresh produce from the garden and the CSA share, and whatever I find. Yes, I scavenge and I’m proud to admit it. I picked up some fresh blueberries but if it’s ‘off season’ you can always get frozen berries and thaw them out. I would recommend straining them and dusting them with flour or sugar so they don’t clump together. I switched out the oil for non-fat honey greek yogurt but kept some butter and two of the eggs.  The yogurt gives them a dense consistency and removes some of the fat. I’m working to remove some of the junk from baked goods, but sometimes you need some butter to achieve a lightness and texture in baked goods.  I just can’t get off the ‘butter’ wagon and refuse to use anything that is a substitute because it’s just not as good. The oatmeal gives the muffins a great texture and adds some fiber, powering you through the morning.

You’ll need:

makes 12 regular muffins (depending how full you pack your muffin tin)

  • no-stick cooking spray
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup oats–quick or regular oats, plain
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 ounces honey nonfat greek yogurt or 1 1/2 cups (Chobani)
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  1. Heat oven to 350°.
  2. Coat muffin tin with cooking spray or liners.
  3. Combine flour, sugar, oats, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl.
  4. Combine yogurt, eggs, butter, and vanilla in a second bowl.
  5. Fold yogurt mixture into dry mixture; stir to combine completely.
  6. Gently fold in blueberries.
  7. Spoon into muffin tins.
  8. Bake until top is golden and springs back when you gently touch it, 20-25 minutes.
469 thoughts on “POWER muffins: blueberry+oatmeal+yogurt=POWER

  1. Yummy muffins. I’m making them for a second time. Love the Greek yogurt, oats and blueberries in them. I’m going to feature them on my new blog. Fit mommy.
    Fitmommyrocks.wordpress.com
    Check it out and follow. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Power Muffins (Blueberry+Oatmeal+Yogurt) | 90dayhealthkickrecipes

  3. These have become favorites. Not too sweet, healthy ingredients. I even froze blueberries during peak season, so I can make these into the fall and winter.

  4. Pingback: In the Kitchen: I Know It’s Important, But… | A Homeschool Mom

  5. Pingback: Blueberry-yummy muffins | Adventures in White

  6. Pingback: Blueberry Oatmeal Yogurt Muffins | Fearless Creative

  7. Pingback: Week 4: Healthy Freezer Meals

  8. These tasted great! I used wholewheat flour and finer oats so had to add a little more liquid aka mashed banana and milk.

    Great recipe 🙂

    • room temp if you’ll eat them right up. fridge if it’s going to be more than a few days. freezer if you make a big batch & only want to warm up one or two at a time or save for another day.

  9. I swapped the flour for Pilsbury Gluten Free Multi-purpose blend, and swapped the sugar for trivia baking blend, then added genepeo protein powder, an extra egg, and some extra Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt….I cut them in half And spread some unsweetened applesauce on them…Delicious!!

  10. Pingback: Blueberry Oat Muffins - Fit Life with E

  11. Wow, they look so delish, where am I going to find blueberries in India now? I love the idea of using yogurt in the recipe though and I’d like to do something with it 😦 Anything I can substitute them with?

  12. Love this recipe! Thank you!!! I tweaked to meet my needs and it turned our great. I added 2 mashed bananas and cut sugar down to 1/2 cup, used plain greek yogurt, I also used one cup flour and one cup almond flour to cut down on the carbs. Great recipe!

  13. Pingback: Blueberry Muffins | twentytwolose

  14. Pingback: I Made Muffins | candancelife

  15. I just Made a batch of these they are in the oven right now! I made a second batch but instead of blueberries I added raspberries, walnuts, and semi sweet chocolate chips they look yummy too!

  16. Can I use all coconut flour and coconut sugar? If so what would the proper measurements and extra ingredients entail, if any?
    I have made these 100 times before with AP flour and regular sugar but I stopped using that for all cooking. They are absolutely yummy! 🙂

  17. Pingback: Oat and Yogurt Blueberry Muffins – one clean kitchen

  18. I use half the batter to make the muffins and then I add some buttermilk and milk to the the other half of the batter and make pancakes. My kids loooove the pancakes! My son said they were the best pancakes ever 🙂

  19. I substituted low fat plain yogurt for honey Greek. Added 1 1/2 cups of blueberries and 1/2 cup of vanilla almond milk.

    It yielded 24 muffins.

    I entered it into my fitness pal app and it was 145 calories/muffin.

  20. These are extremely delicious. I swapped out butter for coconut oil and I added lemon zest. I also only had plain yogurt so I added honey. Yuuummmmm. Perfect consistency. Thank you!

  21. Pingback: Power Trip – Making it Up as They Grow

  22. Pingback: Blueberry Power Muffins – Family Apron

  23. I am not sure what I did… They turned out the consistency of oatmeal… I followed the recipient but I may have to try to make them again…

  24. Pingback: Blueberry POWER Muffins – Hilary's Healthful Habits

  25. I’ve made these many times!!
    I sub bananas for eggs
    Use all whole wheat flour
    Steel cut oats
    Honey in place of sugar
    And whatever yogurt flavors I have.. I make them in small muffin tins.. And my 2 year old loves them for breakfast! I also add a small amount of milk as needed.

Leave a Reply

