Greek yogurt chocolate chip zucchini bread

This bread is so versatile it can be used in bread, muffins, or cookies with ease and almost no alterations to the recipe.  In fact, you can easily use the recipe “as is” for all three and I only add a bit more flour to the base if I’m going to make cookies to get a firmer, less loose cookie.  It’s your call, you won’t be sad about this.  I took my mema’s recipe and subbed in my favorite, Chobani non-fat greek yogurt in place of the original 1 cup of veg. oil and cut the sugar in half. I also added 1/2 c. flour to the recipe to give it some more legs to stand on. I like a good, dense bread but if you like a flatter loaf, cut it by 1/2 to just 3 c. of flour.

Don’t forget about the apple recipe contest! 

It’s coming to the time in the summer where you have some of ‘those’ zucchini’s in your garden.  I like to call them “gigantor” because they get away from you, hiding under the leaves when they’re young or you go away on vacation for a few days and the next time you set foot in your garden, ‘gigantor’ is waving at you from the garden and you can see him at 50 ft. away….You know that guy, he’s waving because he’s so big and then you get annoyed because he won’t be any good to eat.  You with me yet? I have a love/hate relationship with ‘gigantor’ and love him because he makes great breads, cookies, and other things where you can grate him up. I hate him because you only need so many of him and after a while, you begin throwing them over the bank, in the ditch, in the compost pile, or in my case–Molly dog eats them.  Don’t ask me….she loves them.  My mema used to take those ‘gigantor’s,’ disappear into the kitchen for an hour or so, and emerge with some fine eats.

My mema = my grandmother on my mom’s side.  Man, that woman could cook classic meat and potatoes dishes like a champ.  You wanted Thanksgiving in August, she was your woman. You wanted zucchini bread, this is the recipe you lived by.  She made this into cookies, muffins, and delicious bread without fail each summer.  I got the recipe from her when she was still alive and I had begun to take cooking more seriously, you can see from my photo that the recipe was written pretty quickly and the original includes almost no extra information for a few reasons.  I assumed I would remember and the recipe really is that easy to put together!

I did add a few details this year to help remind myself when I pull this card out of my recipe box next year 🙂 This recipe has some personality in the fact that the card is smudged, has (my) fingerprints all over it, and is wearing at the seam.  I love it. The smell of the house reminds me of my mema.

You’ll need:

about an hour

makes two standard loaves

  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 c. nonfat greek yogurt (Chobani is my preferred, you go with what you want)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 3 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 1/2 c. flour of choice (I mix whole wheat & AP flour in equal parts)
  • 2 c. grated zucchini
  • optional: chocolate chips and/or chopped nuts of choice
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Spray loaf pans with non stick spray
  3. In large bowl mix eggs, yogurt, sugar, vanilla, salt, powder, soda, and cinnamon together using a whisk or mixer.
  4. Add flour and continue to mix.
  5. Fold in zucchini until mixed thoroughly. Batter will be relatively stiff/thick/dense.  Fear not.
  6. Fold in chips and/or nuts.
  7. Spread evenly among the two pans.
  8. Bake for approximately 45 minutes. Bread is done when a toothpick comes out clean.
  9. Cool in pan for 20 minutes and then remove.
  10. Cool completely or until your desire for a slice of bread and butter gets the best of you 🙂

7 thoughts on “Greek yogurt chocolate chip zucchini bread

  1. Pingback: Not Too Sweet Coconut Cookies | Domesticated Academic

  2. Pingback: Double Chocolate Cinnamon Bread (Starbucks Replica) | Domesticated Academic

  3. Pingback: Summer in an Instagram | Domesticated Academic

  4. Of course, if you’re at the Melting Pot for one of their delicious entr. If you have a yogurt maker, then you would simply follow the instructions that come with the machine, and if you do not have one, then you can follow the following instructions:. This is my favorite scenic drive in wa & the road winds through sections of tall trees which create a canopy over the road with filtered, speckled sunlight, entering through the car windows.

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread | Cooking with an Evolved Dad

  6. Pingback: 5 Things Friday: What I’ve Been Eating | Domesticated Academic

  7. Pingback: Friday Food | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

