Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte Syrup


Fall means a few really great things: pumpkin spice latte’s, leaves turning, cooler weather, football (or foozeball if you’re channeling the Waterboy), and wearing something cuter than flip flops.  All of these excite me to no end. If you know me in real life, you understand.  If you don’t, you’re going to have to take my word for it! I get real excited when Starbucks puts the Pumpkin Spice Latte back on their menu for fall and I do make a point to enjoy them when my budget allows.  The first one of the season is always the best but after I spend $4-5 on one, I have a mini ‘come to jesus’ moment with myself and then head to my kitchen so I can have the same feeling anytime I want. This is a vegan, gluten free recipe (by accident) and while there’s some sugar in it, it is no more than flavored creamer per teaspoon once you start adding in the coffee, milk, half and half or whatever you like with it.

source

This syrup has a nice amount of pumpkin puree in it.  I use the pumpkin from a can but fresh pumpkin would also yield the same results. You’d probably like to also know that Starbucks Pumpkin Spice syrup doesn’t actually contain any real pumpkin but is merely manufactured in New Jersey somewhere to give your taste buds a little fall hug.  But  mine does!!!! 😀 This is a really easy recipe that keeps nicely in the fridge for a good while.  You can make a big batch of it and just store it to enjoy each day.  This base syrup is also really fantastic to flavor not only coffee, but I may or may not have consumed this as flavoring in milk, pumpkin milkshakes, white pumpkin mochas, or used it as a syrupy glaze on pumpkin bread in recent memory.…I highly recommend all of them!  I make a batch of this, store it in mason jars, and it’s waiting for me every morning, even though I might want some iced coffee, it’s still pretty freaking awesome hot or cold.

You’ll need:

20 min.

  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  1. Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally to keep syrup from burning.
  2. Let mixture cook together until it becomes syrup-y and begins to coat the spoon (for about 10-15 minutes), then remove from heat.
  3. Refrigerate in a heat-proof container. The syrup will thicken a bit in the refrigerator, but will become syrup-y again when heated.
  4. To make into a coffee drink, you can add equal parts of this syrup to dairy of your choice in the bottom of a mug and then add hot/cold coffee for enjoyment.  It will taste like starbucks for a fraction of the price.  I freeze my leftover pumpkin puree in an ice cube tray to make more of this later on.
25 thoughts on “Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte Syrup

  1. Pingback: Summer in an Instagram | Domesticated Academic

  2. Pingback: Greek Yogurt Apple Cinnamon Pancakes | Domesticated Academic

  3. Pingback: Greek Yogurt Vanilla Pumpkin Pancakes | Domesticated Academic

  4. I love this idea! However, if I make it again I will probably leave out the cloves. I found them to be a bit overpowering, giving more of a “mulled apple cider” flavor than a pumpkin pie flavor. In fact, I think I might just substitute all of the spices with 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice.

  5. Pingback: Lightened Starbucks Lemon Loaf With Craisins | Domesticated Academic

  6. Pingback: 5 Ingredient Corn Salsa + The Best of 2012 | Domesticated Academic

  7. I’m SUPER excited about making this but I’m wondering how long it’ll keep if its room temperature and unopened I have some friends and family overseas who would LOVE this but it can take 1-2 weeks for them to receive a care package…any idea or maybe suggestions?

    • Breanna … I make Pumpkin Butter and can it (hot water bath) … I don’t see why you couldn’t do that with this! Then you’d have NO PROBLEM shipping it overseas (but you’ll have to worry about and protect it from breakage!)

      • Ive never seen cans of pumpkin puree here in the Uk :)..I gather its in cooked puree form as raw pumpkin is reasonably hard..maybe if I simmer chunks briefly to soften beforecI puree in a blender would that work just as well do you think? Thanks for the reply.Sue

      • Thanx…will try that..had never heard of pumpkin spice til I came across it on Pinterest..of which I am addicted by the way..lol…curiousity got the better of me..so thought..must try..after research found I could order it from overseas for total of $34 inc shipping..seeming somewhat expensive to just try it out..dissapointed I gave up on the idea until I came across your recipe….am always up for new tastes 🙂 thanx again. Sue

  8. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Pancakes | Domesticated Academic

  9. Pingback: October in an Instagram | Domesticated Academic

  10. Pingback: Easy Homemade Pumpkin Syrup | Mandys Recipe Box

  11. Pingback: Easy Homemade Pumpkin Syrup - Made From Pinterest

Leave a Reply

