Cherry Crumb Bars

My Mema strikes again!  This recipe is one my Mema used to make us and while I’m sure Betty Crocker or one of those jerks at Duncan Hines will lay their claim to it, I’m sticking to my Mema on this one!  These cherry bars couldn’t be easier to prep and make and if 20 years olds like them, they can’t be too terrible awful.  Seriously, they are a breeze to dump together and I made them the morning of the meeting and answered emails and did some work while waiting for them to cook/cool before I could cut them for the trip to campus. These will disappear faster than pizza on a Friday night in your house.

I made these for a weekly research team meeting and the students wanted to know how to make them.  I told them and one of the students said, “wow, you told us in like 10 seconds Dr.______.”  I realize I also talk at top speed here in the south and then told the students to check out my cooking blog for the complete recipe which they could read any any speed they wished 🙂 I may someday slow down the speed that words come out of my big mouth, but until then, the fine folks down here are just going to have to get a little more hitch in their giddy up!

You’ll need:

5 min. prep + 40 min. cook time

  • 1 box of yellow cake mix (homemade mix is great too) 9×13 pan size
  • 1/2 c. butter (1 stick) cut into cubes
  • 1 standard size jar of cherry pie filling (I use the less sugar kind for personal preference)
  • nuts, chocolate chips, etc….
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Spray bottom of 9×13 pan with nonstick spray
  3. In large bowl, cut the butter into the cake mix using a pastry cutter or two forks.  You want some good size crumbs.
  4. Take one cup of the mix and set it aside.
  5. Pat the remaining mix in the bowl into the bottom of the 9×13 pan. Press it down lightly with your clean hand.
  6. Spread the pie filling out over the cake mix evenly.
  7. If you want to add nuts or chips, this is the time. I use about 1/2 c. of either or both or neither. Your call.
  8. Sprinkle the cup of cake mix you set aside over the whole pan.
  9. Bake for about 40 min. until things brown up and set up.
  10. Cool completely before cutting/serving. You can serve these warm but they are more challenging to get out of the pan. You’ve been warned 🙂
2 thoughts on “Cherry Crumb Bars

  1. Pingback: Butter Toffee | Domesticated Academic

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Crumble Bars | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

