Stuffed Roma Tomatoes

The last tomato or the first, it doesn’t matter which. I always get REAL excited about them….I have yet to tire of tomatoes and actually look forward to sweating my ass off making vats of homemade sauce, slicing them for sandwiches, salads, and these beauties.  The CSA provided about a dozen perfect Roma’s last week and while I know they won’t last for much longer, I thought it wise to make a huge pig of myself and cook them all immediately 🙂  It’s how I roll…..Speaking of making a pig of myself, I had to shoot these at night because I knew there wouldn’t be any leftovers once the wild pack of wolves got a hold of them.  I’d apologize but quite frankly, I don’t care–not because I don’t like putting forth my best effort but because these are SO FREAKING GOOD that you too will also eat them all in one sitting with little regard to anyone to the left or right of you, never mind a camera or a food blog….:)

I did not measure here because I don’t know how many tomatoes YOU’LL be stuffing or how BIG they’ll be or how FULL you’ll want them.  The recipe is so simple, my mom can do it (she hates to cook) so fear not cooks! Unite and go find some cheese!  You can modify this as you want knowing that it’s perfectly ok to use reduced fat cheese or leave out the breadcrumbs to make it gluten free. This is a vegetarian dish (score one for me) and you can easily go big or go home on this one. It’s your call.

You’ll need:

  • Roma tomatoes (or equivalent)
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • chopped fresh or dried basil
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • Italian or Panko bread crumbs
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Slice tomatoes lengthwise and clean out pulp and vein in the middle of each.
  3. Put on baking sheet
  4. Drizzle olive oil over all of the tomatoes and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  5. Toss with your bare hands.  I dare you….
  6. Shred cheese and chop basil.
  7. Mix together to evenly distribute the basil.
  8. Fill each tomato with cheese mixture to your liking.
  9. Sprinkle tops with bread crumbs of your choice.  Sometimes I like to add a little parmesan too.
  10. Bake about 10 min. or until everything is melted and hot all the way through.
3 thoughts on “Stuffed Roma Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Black Bean Salad | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

