Chicken Enchilada Bake

Cheesy, gooey, runny, warm you all the way through food.  Yes folks, fall is here and I’m likely to put on at least 7 pounds over the next few weeks.  This recipe hails from my sister, who is also an amazing cook.  I love enchilada’s and have had them 100 ways only to return to my love of the enchilada bake. Layering up the tortillas, chicken, sauce, and cheese make this so much easier to put together, to cook, and serve to a group. The leftovers are awesome, like mac & cheese, sometimes better the next day! I like mine extra runny so feel free to adjust the amount of enchilada sauce to your liking, but I use a big can for an 8×8 pan. I’m just a pig like that.

I’m lazy. There, now you know something about me.  I’m also busy, work full time, and would like to enjoy a meal without spending two hours on it.  I have no idea how people with kids do it.  You all have my vote in the next election!

I roasted off a chicken in the crock pot over the weekend with the intention of making these or a giant vat of homemade chicken soup. Since I didn’t feel very soupy, I opted for the enchiladas and my stomach sure was pleased of my decision.

You’ll need:

makes an 8×8 pan: double for 9×13 pan

  • 2 c. shredded chicken
  • 9-10 small sized corn tortillas
  • 1-2 c. shredded cheese of choice
  • 1 regular can of cream of chicken soup
  • 1 large can of enchilada sauce (I like El Paso medium red sauce)
  • non-stick spray
  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Spray bottom of 8×8 pan w/ nonstick spray-glass or aluminium is fine
  3. Mix shredded chicken with cream of chicken soup. It looks gross but it’s amazing.
  4. Lay down tortillas.  I use two whole and break one in half to fill in the gaps.  Have fun with it!
  5. Spoon out half of the chicken mixture and spread across tortillas.
  6. Pour 1/3 of the enchilada sauce over the mix.
  7. Sprinkle with cheese
  8. Repeat one more time: tortillas, chicken, sauce, & cheese.
  9. Finish with a layer of tortillas, sauce, and cheese.
  10. Cover in foil.
  11. Bake for approximately 30 minutes until everything is melted and hot all the way through.
3 thoughts on “Chicken Enchilada Bake

  1. Pingback: Turkey Sausage Skillet | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

