My Mema’s Stove Top Applesauce

Did you know that bees will sting apples just so they can poke a hole in them to rot?  The bee will come back once the flesh is soft enough and begin eating the brown flesh. Boom–you learned something today. So, when you see an apple with a hole and brown flesh, it’s just usually a bee that knew it would make an awfully good snack. I love agriculture and the eco-system.

One of my grad students handed me a bag of fresh apples that fell from her tree at home and this quick applesauce came to mind first.  My Mema used to whip up fresh, warm, spicy applesauce ALL OF THE TIME in about 15 minutes + a few minutes to peel the apples.  I realize the crock pot might be a great way to make it and forget about it, but 15 minutes is like immediate satisfaction in my book.  I can remember my Mema whipping this up to accompany pork roast, for topping vanilla ice cream, or just to eat.  Crock pot applesauce seems to be all the rage lately.  I can’t help but wonder, why the hell are people waiting all damn day for it?

We grew up canning and freezing so I can recall days spent in the kitchen peeling apples, peeling skin off of tomatoes, and cutting fresh corn off the cob to freeze.  Sometimes, growing up poor and in agriculture has its’ advantages because today, I can’t get enough of ways to make summer produce last longer.

The apples my student gave me were not perfect looking and a little on the small size (that’s what she said ;)). However, upon closer inspection, I knew they would make good sauce.  I peeled these, chunked them right into a sauce pan, and added the sugar and spices.  I boiled these on medium high for 15 minutes and voila–applesauce.  Can’t get much easier.  If you’re looking to make this for babyfood, you could throw it in the blender and cook it without any of the sugar and spice for a baby’s tummy or omit the sugar for someone who has dietary restrictions or if the apples are sweet enough.  Splashing in some orange juice would also add a nice flavor to this, but I didn’t have any.  I gave up drinking orange juice years ago because of the extra sugar content.

Play with this to make it your own taste. Don’t be afraid.

You’ll need:

15 min. + prep time

  • 2-4 c. peeled, chunked apples
  • 1/4-1/2 c. water or orange juice
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. all spice
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • sugar or other sweetener as needed
  1. Put all ingredients into saucepan.
  2. Boil for 15 min.
  3. Use a potato masher to break up the apples to your liking or make it more ‘sauce like.’
  4. Enjoy warm, cool, or freeze this once it cools in freezer bags for enjoyment all winter!
One thought on “My Mema’s Stove Top Applesauce

  1. Pingback: Apple Madness! A Recipe Round Up to Whittle Your Stash | Thrifty Travel Mama

Leave a Reply

