Apple Spice Fritters

I try to exert discipline around things that are deep fried but once I started thinking about these fritters, my resolve left the building. Once the confectioners sugar hit these, I sat down and ate a bowl full of them with a cup of coffee. I will try again tomorrow on ‘healthy living’ and fully understand that 5-6 fritters aren’t going to be too big a set back. In fact, over a year after committing to my own health and lifestyle, they felt like a decadent treat and I thoroughly enjoyed them. They reminded me of home, of growing up, and perfect fall weather.

I miss NY pretty regularly.  I’m sure you feel the same way if you’ve moved from your childhood home and have mostly fond memories of growing up and living there.  Each fall, we’d go to an apple festival and have warm apple fritters. They are simply to die for. I’ve had them a dozen different ways and I’ve loved them all. I had been hankering for some for several days and friends stopped through on their way to NC with a huge bag of NY honey crisp apples.  Needless to say, the oil was put in the stock pot less than 12 hours later for some frying. While I did not use a precious honey crisp apple for these, I had a fuji apple, I think it’s safe to say I like apple foods better than pumpkin foods during the fall. Although, I say that now and in two weeks I’ll have 234 pumpkin recipes (foodie fail).

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 3 T. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. allspice
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c. milk
  • 1 large apple, peeled and cut into small pieces-if pieces are too large, apples will not cook/soften.
  • oil for frying (about 2 cups)
  1. In a medium bowl mix all ingredients except oil. Batter will be a bit thick but also runny.
  2. Heat about 2 cups of oil in a heavy bottomed pan to about 370 degrees F. A digital thermometer is a great help on this one!
  3. Drop spoonfuls or small ice cream scoops of batter into hot oil.
  4. Turn once and drain on paper towels.
  5. Dust with cinnamon sugar or confectioners sugar.
3 thoughts on “Apple Spice Fritters

  1. Pingback: Oven Fried Cornflake Chicken | Domesticated Academic

  2. Pingback: Apple Galette With Cheddar Crust | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

