Oven Fried Cornflake Chicken

Fake me out frying. The awesome crunch you get from the corn flakes is amazing, and the buttermilk coating soaks into the chicken, making it super moist. You can use white meat to make this even healthier but I prefer brown for the taste, juiciness, and it can tolerate being in the oven for a few extra minutes without drying out. I use bone in chicken but you do what you want. The buttermilk coating and crumb coat keep it moist so feel free to peel the skin off for your heart. Some chicken skin is oh-so-good once in a while though isn’t it?? šŸ˜‰

I love some good fried chicken but my waist and my heart don’t. I also don’t like to deep fry at home because I lack the proper tools and a good stove to do it. I did make some good apple fritters, but that was probably the first thing I had fried in over a year. My grad school butt thanks me too! This chicken is equally satisfying with the crunch and the spice of the mustard, cayenne, and worcestershire is a nice kick. Feel free to add hot sauce or anything that makes your skirt fly up.

You’ll need:

several hours for soaking + 40 min. cook time

  • 3/4 c. non/low fat buttermilk
  • 1 tbs mustard
  • 2 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 6 boneless, skinless (or skin on) chicken thighs (bone in is also fine, double cooking time)
  • 2 1/2 c. corn flakes or some kind of bran flake (your choice)
  • 1/2 c. italian or panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne/red pepper
  1. Whisk the buttermilk, mustard, and worcestershire sauce in a bowl.
  2. Soak the chicken in the bowl or all together in a plastic bag for at least one hour and up to 24 hours.
  3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  4. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. I use a cooling rack to set the chicken on as well but you don’t have to.
  5. Finely process the cereal or smash in a plastic bag into fine crumbs. Add bread crumbs, salt, and cayenne to mix.
  6. Remove chicken from buttermilk and strain thoroughly
  7. Coat the chicken shake-n-bake style or put the crumbs into a shallow dish and coat.
  8. Bake for 25-30 min. for skinless, 40-45 for bone-in chicken.
Leave a Reply

