Chicken Parm Meatballs

These little fella’s are hiding their big secret inside, the cheese melts, gets hot, and you burn your tongue. But, it’s totally worth it. Trust me. Totally worth it. I found ground chicken on sale (amazing) but ground turkey or any other ground protein of choice would work well. If I had a big freezer, I would have bought some more ground chicken just to freeze, a lb. was less than $2, a big win in my grocery shopping week but not as big as when Ben & Jerry’s goes on sale. Then, there is celebration everywhere.

My new issue of Everyday Food came and these caught my eye immediately. And then I saw “2 cups oil” and my eye connected to my brain and I thought–hells to the NO. I’m not dumping these amazing things in oil.  So, I stood in my kitchen and thought about my options. Less oil-NO. No breadcrumbs-NO. Baked, not fried and then baked- YES.

You’ll need:

  • 1 lb. ground chicken
  • 2 c. breadcrumbs (panko preferred)
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 2 mozzarella cheese sticks cut into about 10 pieces
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • cooked pasta of choice
  • marinara of choice
  1. Pre heat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a mixing bowl combine chicken, 1/2 c. breadcrumbs (italian is fine for the meatballs), salt, pepper, and milk.
  3. Mix just until combined.
  4. Place panko (italian is also fine here) breadcrumbs in a shallow dish.
  5. Divide chicken mixture into 9-10 balls, depending on size.
  6. Form balls with piece of cheese in the middle.
  7. Roll in bread crumbs and place on a baking sheet.
  8. Bake for 25-30 minutes until cooked through.
  9. Serve hot with pasta and marinara or as sandwiches.
3 thoughts on “Chicken Parm Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Chicken Breasts | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

