Parmesan Crusted Grilled Cheese

Can I make grilled cheese even tastier? <–this question crossed my mind. I answered my own question with YES! The parmesan cheese forms a beautiful crust and paired with some warm soup or cut small and served over a salad, you could make your own parm crusted croutons!!! I used sharp cheddar and some colby jack in mine but almost any combination of cheese is a good way to go. If I were going to request my last meal, it would involve some kind of melted cheese or a cheese board the size of my kitchen table. I’d probably weigh at least 10 lbs. less if I quit eating so much cheese. Since that’s not happening, we’ll just move on, shall we?

My issue of everyday food arrived and it took me weeks to get to it. I just didn’t have the time to go through magazines or I was too busy watching bad tv at night instead of stimulating my brain. This led to a ‘food funk’ where I didn’t feel like cooking for about a week and proceeded to eat cheese, crackers, pepperoni, and slices of apple for most meals. Thank goodness I don’t have kids or a demanding husband or something. I don’t know if feeding them cheese and crackers for a week solid would be good parenting/spouse behavior. I was brought out of my food funk with this sandwich. I thought, “it looks good, how can it be bad, it’s grilled cheese with more grilled cheese.” I was sold.

you’ll need:

some self control

15 min.

  • 4 TBS. parmesan cheese
  • 2 pieces of bread, your choice
  • cheese of choice
  • mustard/jam/condiments of choice
  • thinly sliced apples/ham/other sandwich fixin’s’
  • butter
  1. Pre-heat a skillet on medium
  2. Lay out other ingredients in an assembly line style (comes in handy later, I promise).
  3. Pour parmesan cheese in a shallow plate or dish.
  4. Butter one side of a piece of bread.
  5. Lay butter side down in parmesan cheese. Press firmly and get it covered.
  6. Lay bread, butter/cheese side down into heated skillet
  7. Layer on other ingredients: cheese, mustard, apples, etc…
  8. Take remaining slice of bread and butter.
  9. Lay in parmesan cheese to coat.
  10. Top sandwich.
  11. Toast sandwich about 3 min. on each side or until desired brownness is reached.
6 thoughts on “Parmesan Crusted Grilled Cheese

  1. Pingback: Greek Turkey Meatloaf | Domesticated Academic

  2. Pingback: My Dad’s Favorite Meatloaf | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

