Holiday Hangover-Christmas Spinach Dip Bread Bowl

Spinach Bread Bowl Dip | Domesticated Academic

What do you like to eat when you go to a party? My family digs the traditional stuff but each year, I try to add a few new things into the menu to keep people happy. There’s always meatballs, lasagna, salads, and lots of homemade sweets to go around. There were no plans for any kind of dips or picky snacks so I swooped in with some Bread Bowl Spinach Dip and Corn Salsa. You’ll love this dish because it’s easy, feeds a crowd, and the whole platter can be ready to rock and roll in under 30 minutes. Take 10 minutes off if you have a helper pulling bread out and just use pre-cut veggies. My sister was shocked when she came down from showering and found this and some homemade corn salsa on the table ready to snack on. She was impressed. 🙂 I only snapped one photo of this and my sisters hand is in it, taking a sample. You’ll just have to forgive me on this one.

For entertainment on Christmas morning, my sister and I switched all the tags on all of the Christmas gifts before anyone got to them. Made for an entertaining morning 🙂 Of course, we had a lovely party on Christmas Eve party and enjoyed great company and fine food for over 24 hours. I think we all feel like we have a Holiday Hangover from sugar, carbs, and other delicious eats although as I typed this up, my mom emptied out the cooler and put two bottles of wine in front of me and said, “Drink these.” I guess I know what I’m doing this afternoon!!! 😉

You’ll need:

makes between 16-20, depending on how thin you ‘stretch’ the dough

  • 1/4 c. onion finely chopped
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 2 TBS olive oil
  • 4 oz. cream cheese (I use low fat)
  • 1/2 c. sour cream (I use low fat)
  • 1 pkg. frozen spinach, defrosted & water squeezed out
  • 1/3 c. shredded mozzarella
  • 1/3 c. parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1 round loaf of rye or other type of bread
  • carrots, celery, crackers, etc…
  1. Heat saucepan on medium high heat.
  2. Saute garlic and onions in olive oil.
  3. Add cream cheese, sour cream, spinach, salt, pepper, red pepper, and parmesan cheese. Stir to combine until spinach breaks up and everything incorporates.
  4. Add shredded cheese last.
  5. Turn heat off.
  6. Cut out and dig out the middle of your bread to make a bowl. You can use and size a small bowl to pour dip into, causing less of a mess.
  7. Serve with pieces of bread, veggies, crackers, or just eat it by the spoonful!
One thought on “Holiday Hangover-Christmas Spinach Dip Bread Bowl

  1. Pingback: Greek Ranch Dip | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

