Doughnut Hole Cake

Doughnut Hole Cake | Domesticated Academic

I’ve seen similar versions of these on Pinterest with colored globes of cake in the middle. I’m too lazy to make colored orbs of cake and quite frankly, did not have the time or supplies to do so.  You’ll like this because I’ve made it pretty easy for anyone to pull off a showstopping cake without killing yourself in the kitchen all day. PIC and I went to FL to see some friends from grad school and it was the spouse of one of my friends birthday while we were there, d-man. D-man likes sweets as much as the next person so I suggested to my friend that we make him a cake. D-man also has an undying level of affection for Dunkin Donuts. No, they did not pay me to make this cake or blog about it. This creation was my own in my own brain parts…the sweet tooth part.

Doughnut Hole Cake | Domesticated Academic

Anywhooo, I’d seen this cake and thought, “I can do this but with munchkins!” in my brain parts. I shared this thought with my friend who also thought it was a good idea. We set out for some box mixes, a box of munchkins (two lost the battle before we even began), and enough supplies to make a triple batch of buttercream icing….health food cake. Indeed! We chose two kinds of munchkins: chocolate cake and glazed. The chocolate ones baked in with the cake better due to their consistency and if I were to make this cake again, I’d go chocolate and another ‘cake like’ doughnut hole. It might also be fun to experiment with jelly filled holes but the store was out of them. Shucks. It might also be fun to bake a doughnut hole into individual cupcakes too. I could go on and on about this but I’ll stop. You’ve got other things to do.

Doughnut Hole Cake | Domesticated Academic

The icing with a four layer cake was epic, not because it was difficult but because we ended up making THREE batches of butter cream (I like the wilton recipe personally). The sprinkles used to outline the “D” were also a Pinterest inspired thing, thanks Pinterest! This cake was super easy to put together because you use the help of a mix and pre-made munchkins. Not rocket science, just really tall cake! I did NOT have my camera with me on vacation, just my iPhone, so you’ll have to burn me on a stake later for lower quality photos. You can get the idea.

Doughnut Hole Cake | Domesticated Academic

Overall, this was a totally doable and super fun birthday cake to put together. My favorite part is icing, I could eat it by the spoonful. D-man loved the cake and the group of us ate cake like fools all weekend developing a low level diabetes strain.

You’ll need:

  • 2 hours (cooking, cooling, decorating)
  • 2 boxes of cake mix of your choice + whatever you need to make them (oil, eggs, water)
  • 24 (ish) doughnut holes
  • 3 batches of butter cream icing or several containers of pre-made frosting
  • sprinkles
  1. Pre-heat oven to box directions.
  2. Spray round pans. You may have to cook your cakes in two section if you only have two round pans like I did.
  3. Prepare cake mix.
  4. Pour about 1 cup of prepared mix in each round pan. Spread to coat bottom of pan.
  5. Lay six or seven doughnut holes in each pan, distributing them around as you see fit.
  6. Pour remaining cake mix in each pan.
  7. Roll doughnut holes or use a spoon to coat them in cake batter.
  8. Bake according to package directions.
  9. Repeat if you need to do this in flights.
  10. Cool cakes completely before frosting.

Assembly:

  1. Lay cake on plate or base of cake base. Cut/trim off round top if desired for ‘flat’ cake.
  2. Spread 1/2 cup of icing not quite to the edges.
  3. Repeat three more times–layer of cake, layer of icing.
  4. Once finished layering, put a thin crumb coat all over cake, including sides.
  5. Let sit to set up for about 15 minutes.
  6. Frost cake with icing to get desired thickness and look.
  7. Cut out letter or number of paper.
  8. Lay down on cake.
  9. Use sprinkles to coat the top of the cake.
  10. Remove the letter/number very carefully.
  11. Eat cake like fool.
4 thoughts on “Doughnut Hole Cake

  1. What a great idea! I too have seen the cake on Pinterest but will likely not make it because it requires a lot of extra work. I also wondered how it would taste. Love this alternative. You are soo creative!

  2. Pingback: Doughnut Hole Cupcakes | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

