Korean Bulgogi

Korean Bulgogi | Domesticated Academic

You’ll love this dish because it’s spicy, warm, easy to prep, and if you’re careful, it’s not too bad for you nutritionally. Don’t get me wrong, pork belly is a revelation for me and a weekend splurge is always welcome, but lean chicken breast would also make for some great bulgogi. I max out the veggies lately trying to stay healthier so feel free to go wild and add as many as you want. There’s no way to go wrong with this dish!

Korean Bulgogi | Domesticated Academic

“Yum! Korean!”  That’s the recurring thought that always runs through my head whenever I get near the world market. I have not mastered making homemade korean bbq sauce (yet) but it’s on my list. Being 100% Korean, I feel like my palette is becoming more ‘asian’ and less ‘american’ as I get older. Don’t get me wrong, I love american food but find myseld craving kimchi, korean bbq, hot, hot, hot food, hot pot, rice noodles and other traditional Korean and Asian cuisine. We never ate much of it growing up so as an adult, I’ve really started to branch out. I’m also lucky because PIC will pretty much try anything and I’m grateful he’s such a good sport.

You’ll need:

1 hr. (marinate) + 30 min. cook time

serves 4 + leftovers depending on how many veggies you add

  • 1 lb. of beef, chicken, or pork, thinly sliced
  • 1 8-12 oz bottle of korean bbq (bulgogi) sauce
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon finely minced garlic
  • 2 cups snowpeas
  • 2 bunches green onion
  • any other fresh vegetables you want, chopped into similar sizes
  1. Marinate cut up meat for at least an hour in a large bowl with enough bulgogi sauce to coat.
  2. Pre-heat a wok or large saute pan on high.
  3. Saute onion, garlic and meat to get good color on the meat–about 2 minutes.
  4. Turn heat down to medium high and add the snowpeas, green onion, and any other vegetables you have until they’re soft or crunchy, however you like them.
  5. Serve hot, over rice.

Quick & Easy Korean Beef | Domesticated Academic

Quick & Easy Korean Beef

One thought on “Korean Bulgogi

  1. Pingback: Spicy Pork Stir Fry | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

