Chobani Mango & Avocado Chicken Salad

Mango Avocado Chicken Salad | Domesticated Academic

You’ll love this because it cuts some of the fatty mayo out (you can cut it altogether if you’d like), you can alter it to suit your tastes (plain cho is great too), and it turns leftover chicken into a snazzy lunch or brunch dish in about 5 minutes. No joke folks. I made this post shower/pre-bus to campus one day after working out, working on a website, and realizing I had about 30 min. to get to my first meeting of the day and 10 to hit the bus stop. I added siracha to mine because I add it to everything and a good pinch of salt and pepper. The slight sweet taste of the mango with the spice of the siracha was a perfect mid-day pick me up. Or maybe it was the dense protein. I’ll go with the mango and siracha.

Mango Avocado Chicken Salad | Domesticated Academic

Chobani for the win–again! They sent me some big old tubs of yogurt for submitting my cranberry oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe and I stared at them for 1.2 minutes before I opened the pineapple and ate it shamelessly from the ‘big tub.’ Like a pig. The ‘good fat’ from the avocado pairs nicely with the protein packed cho and chicken, it might even make you feel a little more tropical for a few minutes while you’re eating it. Maybe not. I don’t know.

I did label this as “healthy” because I did try to cut out the majority of the mayo but I do like some in it for the flavor. You can burn me on a stake some other time if you don’t agree and keep your comments to yourself. I’m quickly finding out how catty and bitchy some of you can be and you know what: keep clicking if you don’t like it ladies! This has never been marketed as a “health” blog or massive “nutrition database” and it probably never will be. It’s just not my thing. If you’d like to know every calorie, ounce of carbs, or sugar content, find someone else’s blog.

Yes, Chobani nicely sent me some yogurt, but these opinions are my own, no other compensation. Ironically, Chobani is located near my home town and I know some of the great folks who work at that plant. Small world eh?

You’ll need:

10 min.

  • 2 cups chopped cooked chicken 
  • 1/2-1 cup mango chobani (plain is fine, i’m going tropical here)
  • 1 whole avocado, pitted & cubed
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup mayo (or more cho)
  • salt & pepper

I give a range because some of you may like ‘wetter’ chicken salad than I do. I like mine pretty wet and sloppy–just like I like my……… 😉 use your judgment when mixing.

Mix all ingredients in a bowl.

Serve with more fresh avocado or with an additional dollap of chobani, more cilantro, or chips.

Maple Soy Salmon | Domesticated Academic

Maple Soy Marinated Salmon

Cranberry Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies | Domesticated Academic

Cranberry Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

7 thoughts on “Chobani Mango & Avocado Chicken Salad

  1. this sounds so good!! i have never thought to put flavored yogurt instead of mayo. mind blown… and I don’t think I’ve ever added avocado to my chicken salad. looks delicious! thank you for the inspiration!

  2. wow. Made this last night with the Siracha and it was amazing. Only addition I made was finely minced celery. New favorite chicken salad and I would have never considered using yogurt for the base! Thanks so much for the recipe, I will be making this again.

  3. Pingback: Mother’s Day Mint Cho Buttercream Brownies | Domesticated Academic

  4. Pingback: Summer Pasta Salad with Spinach | Domesticated Academic

  5. Pingback: 研究:餐後來顆酪梨,讓你少碰零嘴點心 | 健康達人網

Leave a Reply

