Citrus Syrup Fruit Salad

Citrus Syrup Fruit Salad | Domesticated Academic

Spring is here! I hope to stay–she’s been playing hard to get with her random snow storms, crushing my spirit and my bulbs in front of my place. In fact, she’s kind of holding out on me!

I made this pioneer woman inspired fruit salad for FEASTER (sorry, i’m not into easter due to several reasons, none of which i want to discuss on this blog post, but know that feaster was a celebration of multiple belief systems with mighty good food) and the bowl was empty before I had chance to get seconds, leading me to believe one of a few things:

  1. it didn’t suck
  2. the zombies are coming
  3. everyone at the meal hated fruit

Since it was clear that everyone hated the fresh fruit I had cut up that morning without cutting my fingers off, I figured it was good enough to share with the masses. PW: she’s got time for this stuff. I don’t. PW: she makes real money off her blogs/cookbooks/shows. I don’t. See the difference? I like to keep it simple in the old kitchen. No really, my kitchen is old. PIC and I can’t be in there together cooking b/c of it’s suckiness and small size. (that’s what she said. i’m done now).

Citrus Syrup Fruit Salad | Domesticated Academic

This recipe can be made several ways, depending on your availability of fresh fruit. I totally understand that you may not have ready access to fresh fruit due to the time of year, the cost, or you live in a less than desirable place to get whole pineapples at a moments notice. Use this recipe as a guide and DEFINITELY make the simple syrup to pour over it. You won’t regret the simple syrup.

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Water
  •  Juice Of 1 Orange
  •  Zest Of 1 Orange
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 pints Strawberries, Hulled And Halved (frozen is also fine if not available fresh)
  • 1 pint Blueberries or Blackberries
  • 2 cups Grapes, Halved (red or green are fine)
  • 2 cups fresh pineapple, cubed & cut into bite size pieces (canned or frozen is also fine)
  1. Place the sugar, water, orange juice and orange zest into a small saucepan and stir to combine.
  2. Bring to a boil, then turn the heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes to thicken slightly.
  3. Set aside to cool, then store in the fridge until cold.
  4. Strain the syrup to remove the zest if you don’t want it in your fruit salad. 
  5. Pour over bowl of fresh fruit. Mix to combine.

Bite Sized Spinach Dip Cups | Domesticated Academic

Bite Sized Spinach Dip Cups

Individual Berry Shortcakes | Domesticated Academic

Red, White, & Blue Berry Shortcakes

2 thoughts on “Citrus Syrup Fruit Salad

  1. Pingback: Black Cherry Chocolate Chobani Smoothie | Domesticated Academic

  2. Pingback: 10 Minute Chocolate Sauce | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

