Frosted PB Cho Brownies

PB Frosted Brownies | Domesticated Academic

You’ll love this recipe because you can take the help from a box mix without sacrificing any taste and the peanut butter frosting is light yet firm, holding up well as the brownies get cut. I saw this recipe on my feedly one morning and was intrigued because peanut butter and chocolate are pretty much cause of any kind of celebration. It took every drop of will power I had to not go crazy on the reese’s eggs for easter and the sales after. I compensated by discovering and making this recipe. I put a spin on the frosting by adding my favorite, non-fat greek yogurt, instead of any additional fat to the frosting. I could not taste it in there, the peanut butter covers it up pretty well and it still maintains a nice thick consistency for the frosting. I was pleased with this frosting as a whole and would consider using it to frost a whole cake or cupcakes because it was firm enough, yet very spreadable.

PB Frosted Brownies | Domesticated Academic

I know we’ve talked about my love affair with greek yogurt, namely Chobani, so it should come as no surprise that there’s always a steady stash in my fridge. Whether it be a giant container of the plain, non-fat or a series of ‘bites’ and ‘flips’ that get consumed for breakfast, I’m a big believer in low-fat dairy in my diet. Perhaps the agricultural upbringing contributes to that, but I do notice when I haven’t had enough calcium and I begin to crave salty snacks. So, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it and I’m sticking with Cho. No, they didn’t pay me to say this. I have a brain!

You’ll need:

30 min. + cool time

  • 1 box brownie mix, plus ingredients to make 9×9-inch pan of brownies

Frosting

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup non-fat, plain greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 3 Tbsp milk

Make brownies in an 9×9-inch pan according to package directions.  Cool completely.

For frosting:

  1. Put powdered sugar, vanilla, yogurt, peanut butter and milk in a medium bowl.
  2. Beat with a hand-held electric mixture until combined.
  3. Add more milk until you get the desired consistency.
  4. Spread frosting over cooled brownies.
  5. Cut into squares.
  6. Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired.

Greek Yogurt Cookies | Domesticated Academic

Greek Yogurt Chocolate Chip Cookies

Strawberry Greek Yogurt Coffee Cake | Domesticated Academic

Strawberry Greek Yogurt Coffee Cake

2 thoughts on “Frosted PB Cho Brownies

  1. Pingback: Mocha Butter Cream Brownies | Domesticated Academic

  2. Pingback: Beefed Up Box Mix: Mini Carrot Cupcakes | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

