Mother’s Day Mint Cho Buttercream Brownies

Mint Buttercream Cho Brownies | Domesticated Academic

You’ll love these brownies because they’re just as decadent with half the butter, easy to make with a box mix, and minty-licious for spring! Let’s talk about…..butter cream. I know you love it. I love it. I eat it from the bowl. And then I remember there’s usually at least a cup of butter in it. Which is really what makes it so magical. However, it also does magical things to my arteries and mid-section the following day……While I can’t see the inside of my arteries, I can see my mid-section…..and it gets squishier when butter cream enters the show. **sigh** I had made these decadent brownies for Feaster and man, they were good. But, the reason they were so good is because they contained only the finest half pound of butter I could find. I wanted more of these brownies after finishing them but didn’t know about the butter factor….I headed to the fridge and voila! my friend: Chobani was sitting there, staring at me lovingly. If yogurt can look at me lovingly, I need to talk to someone at Cho. You know what I mean. So, instead of two sticks of butter, I took one out and pulled out my friend, Cho for some experimentation on the butter cream.

Mint Buttercream Cho Brownies | Domesticated Academic

Now, I’m giving myself permission to still call it butter cream because there’s still butter in these, just half the amount that one would normally use. The final product was just as smooth, just as tasty, and dare I say it: comparable. The biggest difference: it wasn’t as dense and heavy in texture. Not necessarily a bad thing right?

You’ll need:

30 min. + cool time

  • 1 box brownie mix, plus ingredients to make 9×9-inch pan of brownies
  • extra chocolate or mint chips or add some peppermint extract/schnapps

Frosting

  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup non-fat, plain greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons peppermint schnapps or peppermint extract
  • milk to thin butter cream if needed

Directions

  1. In a standing mixer fitted with a whisk, mix together sugar, greek yogurt, and butter. Mix on low speed until well blended and then increase speed to medium and beat for another 3 minutes.
  2. Add vanilla and schnapps and continue to beat on medium speed for 1 minute more, adding milk if needed for spreading consistency.
  3. Spread buttercream over brownies and place in fridge to get cold.
  4. Leave in fridge about 45 min. or until cool.

Need more inspiration for Mother’s Day?

Mint Buttercream & Ganache Brownies | Domesticated Academic

Mint Buttercream Brownies

Mango Avocado Chicken Salad | Domesticated Academic

Mango Avocado Cho Chicken Salad

One thought on “Mother’s Day Mint Cho Buttercream Brownies

Leave a Reply

