PB Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

PB Oatmeal Cookies | Domesticated Academic
You’ll love these because they’re simple to put together, require almost no effort, and if you’re a fan of peanut butter, let’s just say HELLO to your new best friend! These are moist, dense, packed with good whole oats and peanut butter, and inherently will leave you feeling less guilty about shoving a few into your piehole. I baked up a batch of these bad boys for a weekend cook out and the plate was almost clean following burger, dogs, salads, deviled eggs, etc…there’s always room for ONE COOKIE!!
I put in the recipe to NOT use natural peanut butter because it’s too oily for these. While it may violate some of your personal beliefs on food and nutrition, you might have to let it slide on this one–you can use the natural pb if you’d like, but don’t say I didn’t warn you……I am trying to cut back on some of the butter in my cookies and while I would be remiss if I didn’t say that butter is truly one of my favorite food groups, sometimes, even I need the gentle reminder that I can still have some sweets without a lb. of butter. Although, if you try to take butter away during sweet corn season, I might actually chase you down for some!
PB Oatmeal Cookies | Domesticated Academic
When I saw this recipe, I was skeptical. No flour? No fat outside of peanut butter? I was more intrigued to make these than anything and like a moth to a flame, I just couldn’t hold back. In my own defense, I did wait a couple of weeks because life has been busy and I’ll be honest here and say one thing: I don’t always have time to cook/bake intricate things or in this case: anything at all. Two colons in one sentence, probably also violating APA code….**sigh**
Ingredients
  • 1 cup creamy or chunky peanut butter (not natural)
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup rolled oats (gluten-free if desired)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. In small bowl mix together the oats and baking soda; set aside.
  3. In a large bowl beat peanut butter, brown sugar, eggs and vanilla with an electric mixer until smooth, about 3 minutes. Mix in dry ingredients with a wooden spoon, then gently fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Roll cookies into 2 inch dough balls and place onto cookie sheet 2 inches apart, then BARELY flatten the top of the cookie with your hand. The dough should be pretty sticky so if you find this method annoying, simply use a cookie scoop to drop the cookie dough onto the prepared baking sheet. The cookies may not be as round in shape and perhaps a bit thicker, but that’s okay, they will still be delicious.
  5. Bake cookies for 9-11 minutes and remove when edges barely begin to turn a golden brown. The cookies may look a little underdone, but they will continue to cook once you remove them from the oven. Cool for 2 minutes on the cookie sheet then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining cookie dough. Makes 16-20 cookies.

More oat, cookie, wonderous bites of fun….

Oatmeal Fudge Bars | Domesticated Academic

Oatmeal Fudge Bars

Cranberry Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies | Domesticated Academic

Cranberry Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

One thought on “PB Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

