Squash Boats With Greens

squash boats | domesticated academic

You’ll love these because they’re low carb, simple to put together, and you can use a variety of ingredients to mix things up based on what you have on hand at the time. I was home alone after a really busy week of work, house sitting for one friend, and house-cat-dog sitting for another friend. The dog is old and did NOT want to be at my house. In fact, she let me know this at 2 a.m. the first night so I drove her back to her house and spent the next four days driving back/forth 3x a day to make sure everyone was happy. I had intended to lay low on a Friday night but a friend came over for an impromptu cookout that was lovely. It did mean that I was driving to walk the dog at midnight and I’m just going to say it: I was worn out on Saturday.

squash boats | domesticated academic

I stayed in and picked up some fresh rainbow chard to go with the summer squash that had been in my CSA bag a few days earlier. I had a leftover hamburger from the cookout on Friday that I broke into small pieces and used as the protein but to lighten them, I’d recommend turkey or chicken or leaving the meat out all together for a true vegetarian dish. These were very filling, I had one and a fresh sliced tomato and called it dinner.

I chose to grill the squash for about 5 minutes first to get some nice color on the ‘boat’ side but you don’t have too.

You’ll need:

20 min. if everything is prepped and ready

  • 2 medium sized summer squash or zucchini, cut lengthwise
  • salt/pepper
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 cup ground turkey or diced chicken, cooked
  • 1/2 cup cooked greens (I cooked down some rainbow chard w/ onion & garlic)
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese of choice
  1. Pre-heat your grill on medium high heat.
  2. Cut squash lengthwise and use a spoon to dig out the guts. leave a rim around the edge of each squash so the filling will stay in.
  3. Drizzle with olive oil and salt and pepper.
  4. Grill 2-3 minutes with the rim side down, you’ll get a nice color and the squash will begin to soften.
  5. Flip once and leave for about 2 minutes.
  6. Remove from grill.
  7. Combine the meat, greens, and cheese.
  8. Mix lightly.
  9. Use a spoon or your hands and stuff each squash boat and pack it lightly.
  10. Sprinkle with more cheese if desired.
  11. Place boats back on the grill with the skin side down to brown and soften the bottom of the squash.
  12. Grill for approximately 5 more minutes or until cheese is melted and everything is warm.
  13. Remove and serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

