From Trash to Treasure: Burlap Jewelry Cork Board

Burlap Jewelry Cork Board | Domesticated Academic

My last cork board that was free from office surplus as smaller: 18×24 and I’d been hanging all of my necklaces from a pants hanger–super classy? Yes! I saw a really cool one on Pinterest that used studded push pins but then I looked at the price of said push pins and decided that something that was going to hold my necklaces shouldn’t cost more than the necklaces…you know what I mean.

Burlap Jewelry Cork Board | Domesticated Academic

I am very pleased with this. I bought a yard of the burlap and was glad I did for a few reasons:

  • it was $1.99 a yard (hey big spender)
  • one layer was a little transparent, you could see the cork underneath it
  • it gave me some prime real estate to hang my earrings right in the second layer of burlap

Total cost: $7

Supplies:

  • cork board
  • measuring tape
  • fabric to fit
  • spray adhesive
  • staple gun or hot glue gun
  • hangers or fasteners
  • push pins
  • ribbon
  1. Clean up your cork boards if they’re used. Remove anything and wipe down with a damp cloth. Remove any other hangers or fasteners if they’ll get in the way of gluing fabric down.
  2. Lay fabric out to ‘practice’ where you want it to drape.
  3. Use spray adhesive and spray evenly across corked side of board and along frame. You can remove the frame but I left mine on because they you have to fasten the cork to the plywood on the back. The frame also makes a nice edge even with the fabric.
  4. Lay out your fabric and work from the inside out, centering and lining it up.
  5. Pat it down where you want it throughout.
  6. Let dry at least one hour (according to spray adhesive instructions-read the label, yours might be different).
  7. After the hour has passed, flip the board over.
  8. Trim the fabric to fit if there was a lot of excess.
  9. Use the staple gun or hot glue gun (both is probably overkill) and fasten the fabric to the back of the frame.
  10. Decorate with push pins, ribbon, etc…
  11. Affix fasteners or hangers last and hang that sucker up! It looks AMAZING!!
Leave a Reply

