Crock Pot Chicken Soup

crock pot chicken soup | domesticated academic

You’ll love this recipe because it’s easy to make, cooks itself, and there’s minimal prep work on the back end when supper time rolls around. When chicken is on sale for about $1/lb, I stock up and hog up freezer space like it’s nobody’s business. Good thing I’m single and ready to mingle. Perhaps a man will fall in love with my soup!

crock pot chicken soup | domesticated academic

My ‘crack pot’ and I have an understanding. Whatever I put in, I will eat as long as she doesn’t screw it up. Crack pot (yes, that’s my name for her) and I have had several tries with soup and we enjoy the process each time. I made a big batch of this on a day that I wasn’t working until 8 p.m. so I could eat the leftovers on all the other days of the week when I was out working late. It works out pretty well actually. For everyone, including me! It takes only a few minutes to prep everything, the chopping is the most time consuming part, and I put it on low and walk out of the door to work. I pull the chicken, let it cool so I can pick/chop it, and throw the noodles in for an hour. I usually add the chicken back in at the very end, but if you’re crunched for time, just go ahead and add it with the noodles. Whatever works for you.

You’ll need:

20 min. prep + cook time

  • 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 pounds chicken pieces
  • 4 cups water
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • chicken boullion or chicken broth powder will amp up the chicken ‘flavor’ here–try some out, I usually put some in
  • 1 teaspoon salt, or to taste, depending on saltiness of broth
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried marjoram or basil
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 6 ounces noodles
  1. Place all ingredients except noodles in the Crock Pot.
  2. Cover and cook on low for 5 to 6 hours.
  3. Remove chicken and bay leaf from pot
  4. Remove meat from bones, dice, and return to broth, and add the noodles.
  5. Cook another hour or until noodles are done (about 1/2 hour on high).
  6. Or, cook the noodles separately and add them just before serving.
  7. Taste and season before serving to make sure it’s ‘just right.’

Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup | Domesticated Academic

Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Chicken Soup

  1. Pingback: French Onion Soup With Tortellini | Domesticated Academic

  2. Pingback: Super Bowl Crock Pot White Turkey Chili | Domesticated Academic

Leave a Reply

