Homemade Brown Sugar Scrub

Brown Sugar Body Scrub | Domesticated Academic

Spring is coming. Time to slough off the dead stuff, reveal those legs (what I like to call “tree trunks that keep me upright”) and attack w a razor. I’ll also add that the pictures don’t do it justice and unfortunately, there’s not much I can do for you here. I don’t have fancy jars and didn’t have the time to make a fancy label to shove the container back in my bathroom cupboard until next time. You get it. It works great. Go make some. It’s super cheap to make compared to that stuff you buy at the body shop that’s $20+ for a tiny tub.

Brown Sugar Body Scrub | Domesticated Academic

I mean….no, I can’t even make a joke. I went to FL in January, and exposed my skin, I think it tried to crawl back inside itself. This winter was brutally cold and my skin is starving. While I will admit, my ‘asian-ness’ helps me NOT grow large amounts of hair, I do have some delightful patches of eczema that force me to take good care of my dermal layer and give me some awesome skin allergies that are usually amazing and require steroids.

That being said, I already make my own lotion and jammed out batches for myself and for gifts this winter. As luck would have it, I’m allergic to almost anything w fragrance, including cleaners and detergents. So, I also make my own shower cleaners, etc… b/c I’m extra needy like that. Not sure if it’s the contact w the hot water and chemicals that triggers it, but whatever it is, I usually make a big batch every other month and it lasts for a while. I keep coconut oil around for regular use. I make the lotion, I put it in my hair once every couple of weeks, leave it in for an hour and then wash (twice) for the shiniest, softest locks of your life. It’s always in my house.

So, back to exposing my naked, white, dry skin….(how am I doing painting a super sexy picture here?)

It needed the following things:

  • exfoliation
  • shaving
  • tanning
  • tanning
  • basically, the sun of some sort, not skin cancer sun, but a little pigment outside of ‘ghost white’

My friend had mentioned she dabbled in making some homemade scrub but the coconut oil was too hot and it melted the brown sugar.

Don’t be my friend 😛

I did what any respecting human did and I took to the Internetssssss. They know all the things!!!

You’ll need:

  • 2 parts brown sugar

to

  • 1 part softened (not melted) coconut oil–you can soften in a dish in the microwave for about 20 seconds

For example:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  1. Mix them together until crumbly (see pic)
  2. Use in delightful shower to slough off the 6 months of winter.

BE WARNED: this will make your tub floor slippery–it’s OIL

Don’t break a hip

Wash the tub floor b/c no handicap handle is going to save you.

Let everyone touch your legs (or where ever you exfoliate) but don’t come crying to me when you have to slap someone in the face b/c they loved it too.

Luxurious Lotion | Domesticated Academic

Luxurious Lotion

Cleaner for Pennies | Domesticated Academic

Cleaner for Pennies 

Leave a Reply

