5 Things Friday: What I’ve Been Eating

Greetings earthlings! I haven’t posted a recipe since…….mmmmm……wow…….gosh…..mid-July! I’d apologize, but I’m not sorry–I’ve been busy! I have been eating well. Working on cutting some wasteful carbs from my diet and enjoying the bounty of fresh produce that I’m always thankful for.

I have been cooking and baking simple, clean, and simply delicious meals for myself. Unfortunately, they’re not all blog worthy per say. Take a look, I hope you get a good idea or two and keep on summering on! I’ll get back to recipe posting soon, but until then, take some of my own summer inspiration for your own.

2014-08-06 16.00.14

1. Peach & Tomato Caprese Salad. I never would have believed how great it was until I shoved a forkful into my mouth. Simple slices of fresh peachs, fresh mozz, & some basil from the garden.

20140805-193736-70656108.jpg

Always good with the classic stack with tomatoes too!

2014-08-02 10.27.30

 

2. Fresh peach cobbler for my parents. Toss the peaches with some flour, brown sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. Layer in a sprayed 8×8 pan, top with crumble of oats, flour, sugar, and butter. Bake at 350 for about 30 min. until golden brown. Serve with ice cream. That’s an order.

2014-08-07 10.02.09

3. Zucchini season can only mean one thing: bread and muffins! I’ve been tweaking my recipe all summer and have started adding in 1 cup whole oats, halving the oil and subbing in non-fat greek yogurt. The texture is still great and it’s not too tough. Take this recipe, and do your own bait & switch on the oil/greek yogurt and add in that cup of whole oats.

2014-07-20 16.13.00

4. Ice Cream Sandwich Cake. I got invited to a birthday party and said I’d bring dessert as my ‘gift’ to the birthday girl. Instead of a store bought cake or turning on the oven (hello 90+ degrees outside), I picked up a box of ice cream sandwiches, a jar of hot fudge, and a giant tub of cool whip. Stack those sandwiches, top w hot fudge and let set up in the freezer for an hour. Spread the cool whip love and decorate. It was a hit.

2014-07-19 13.12.43

5. Simple pasta. The fresh tomatoes have made me itch for some homemade sauce and with the help of the food processor, it’s only a few minutes away. Whole tomatoes get pulsed and drained to eliminate some of the liquid. Sautéed with onion, garlic, seasoning, etc… until bubbly and topped with fresh basil, this bowl of goodness was perfect on a lazy, hot, rainy, sticky afternoon. Strange to crave pasta in summer? I know but I was craving some carbs I suppose.

 

 

3 thoughts on “5 Things Friday: What I’ve Been Eating

  1. OmmmmmmmmGGGG that cake looks soo good! Obviously the healthy food does as well but I’m craving some sweets right now. I love using the peach with the mozzarella I never would have tried that!

  2. Pingback: Summertime Caprese Salad — Bendiful

Leave a Reply

