Five Fall Favorite Things

I love certain things for a LONG time….I rarely post about this kind of stuff, except my undying adoration for Stitch Fix, which I realize is starting to get out of control. Seriously. I just love it.

I don’t usually rant and rave about “stuff” but here I am, sharing my FIVE favorite things right now. Here we go!

Smartwool (anything)

Favorite Things {Domesticated Academic}

The cool weather (ok, polar vortex this week), has had me in smartwool every day. I have thin dress socks, athletic socks, medium weight socks for boots, and heavier weight socks for hiking. To date, I own about a dozen pair of socks of varying thicknesses, uses, and activities. I also own gloves, hats, and anything else I can afford or ask for as gifts. They make great products with attention to detail and I usually have to throw them out once I’ve walked through them. You will not go wrong so treat yourself! They’re worth every penny! Zulily and other outlets will usually have sales several times per year if you’re on a budget like me and you can be patient and then stock up on savings.

ELF Lip Stain

Favorite Things {Domesticated Academic}

I tried Ipsy and liked it, but it was to much makeup for me. I tend to be more of a minimalist when it comes to makeup. Some of this amazing lip stain every day gives me a tint of color without being sticky, heavy, cakey, or any other negative that usually comes with lip things. It gives me a hint of color without being overwhelming and is subtle. Makes my lips slightly more pink without overpowering my natural tint. The best part: $3. Can’t go wrong.

Renewing Moroccan Argan Penetrating Oil

Favorite Things {Domesticated Academic}

Swimming is great for every part of my body. Except my hair. My hair has become a hot mess this fall. Swimming several times per week has wrecked it. My friend raved about this stuff when I was visiting her in FL a few weeks ago. I grabbed a pic of it and flew home. I picked up my own bottle at Target for a mere $6 and followed the instructions. After the first application, my hair calmed down, frizz and wild ends began to dissappate, and after three uses, it was like the pool never happened. Getcha some.

Bottle Brush-any kind-bonus points if it’s spongey on the end for no reason.

Favorite Things {Domesticated Academic}

I never appreciated a good bottle brush until I had tall water bottles with no way to reach the bottom to wash them. My friend in FL (years ago now) had one of these for her water bottles (and later baby bottles) and I was super excited. You can pick one up for about $3 from most stores or online (look in the baby section if you can’t find them elsewhere) and they last for a while. All of those tall bottles don’t stand a chance!

Crock Pot Chicken Stock

Because good stock shouldn’t be a lot of work. Put the bones/carcass, onion, garlic, celery, carrot, WHATEVER in the crock pot. Top with water. Put on high for 6-8 hours. Best homemade stock of my life all fall (y’all). I’ve been making this all fall from chicken and turkey bones after roasting and removing the meat. It keeps well in the fridge for 7-10 days and then you should use. I store mine in large mason jars but you can freeze it as well.

Favorite Things {Domesticated Academic}

What are your five favorite things in life lately? (They don’t have to be ‘things’ per say).

Leave a Reply

