December in an Instagram

This is it! The final hours of December and 2014 are ticking down. December was certainly a good month for me, heck, most of my months are good for many reasons and the good outweigh the bad in 12/12 months this year! I have come to enjoy doing these monthly photo posts to help remind ME that I’m fortunate, grateful, and dare I say it: blessed?

December was certainly no exception.

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

I love decorating for the holidays. Even though I have a small space (thanks to large furniture), I do my best with a table top tree and put out the whole deal. I also celebrated an evening of Hanukkah with friends this year. Lighting the Menorah, eating the latke’s, and spending time with friends was a welcome evening during the last weeks of the semester.

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

I started making scarves for my girlfriends last year and they went over well. This year, I upped my “a” game and went with complimentary color combo’s, and a mix of jersey and cotton fabrics to add some textural interest. I blocked off a Saturday and went crazy! 16 scarves later, I had one for each of my girlfriends, my sister, and my mother (and a few for me). They went over quite well this year and the mixed prints were a hit! I enjoy giving a homemade gift when I have the time.

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

I blocked off plenty of time to meditate, practice yoga, walk, and swim. It’s become important to me to stay active and keep moving and also slow down to breathe in a quiet space. I’ve started spending about 10 min. each morning meditating and stretching out from the night before beginning the day.

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

Christmas brought a trip home to the farm. A warm Christmas brought a hike to the waterfall on the property. The calves always like to see me. They don’t care if I published, they only love me!

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

I’m obsessed with my dog. I’d apologize but I don’t feel bad. She’s my favorite girl. She also loves to spoon people. I find it hilarious. You might not, but I do! Love this dog!

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

December in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

Leave a Reply

