January in an Instagram

What? New Year is already a month in? I feel like I just whisked in the new year last week. Woof. Jokes on me!

I greeted the new year with a lot of sunrise walks/jogs. The weather has been highly unpredictable in my part of the world in terms of 40’s/50’s for a few days, then bitter cold for a few more. Weird, but hey, the sun was out a lot, so I bundled up and enjoyed it when I could.

January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

The new year also brought in some good eats. A new taco place opened in my town and my friends and I checked it out. It didn’t disappoint and I’d go back in a minute or after the newness wears off and lines are shorter.

January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

I ordered this caprese salad and it was one of the most beautifully presented plates of food I ate all month. I think it made it taste better….

2015-01-January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic} 20.37.58

We had our first substantial “stay home” freezing rain. It was beautiful. I woke up and grabbed some sunrise shots before it melted away.

January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

It can’t all be hearts and flowers up in here. Fatty snacks are back along with Scandal each week. My friends and I make the most of the evening and it was my turn to bring the snack game. A pear makes it balanced right?

January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

Self-portrait anyone? I did take a few selfies mostly because this hat actually fit my gigantic noggin! I can never find hats that fit! It just so happens it was made by the mom of one of our grad students and the mom made me two hats to send in the mail to me! What a generous gift! I can’t wait to get them! The drawing was done by a 7-year old at happy hour. I’d say it’s pretty spot on.

January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

As always, there’s always time for some fun. Nothing like a little cranberry old fashioned and some cards with friends. This game kills me every time. Just can’t get enough!

January in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

Leave a Reply

