February in an Instagram

February was short, sweet, fast, and furious! I cannot believe how busy it was, how cold it was, or how long the cold I got during February lasted! I’m still coughing from it!

On with the show!

It was cold in February. Bitterly cold at times. For the south, it was cold. How about that qualifier? My poor heat pump was not designed for a high of 5 degrees and it was a pain to have frozen water even after dripping faucets. First world? Yup. The snow and cold have been utterly beautiful, however, I’m ready (and so is my electric bill) to trade in for some abundant sunshines, a pedicure, and something that isn’t filled with goose down as a layer. That being said, I’m also going to NY for my spring break to see my family. I’m truly a masochist.

February in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

February in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

February in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

 

A grad student’s mom knitted me this hat. It’s awesome! It fits my big head! It’s super warm! Kindness shows up where you least expect it!

February in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

 

Snow days meant snacks. Everyone at the grocery store was jonesing for the milk and bread so I skipped the crowds and picked up a nice selection of cheese, fruit, and crackers. I also made some homemade wine soaked cherries and it made my days of shoveling much more enjoyable. So did naps.

February in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

 

Spoiler alert: I still love sunsets.

February in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

 

Finally, with all of this delightful winter weather, sometimes the best thing you can do for yourself is bundle up, leave the house, and have some fun evenings with friends. Cards Against Humanity anyone? We pigged out on Chinese, someone made Old Fashions for everyone, and it was a fun evening. It made my cold, the cold, and the winter more bearable.

February in an Instagram {Domesticated Academic}

Leave a Reply

