Stitch Fix #18-It’s the Holidays

Stitch Fix #18-The Holidays {Domesticated Academic}

Happy Holidays! The onslaught of the end of the semester, the holidays, and well….does there need to be anything else? Nope. I am happy to report that the great stylists have got my style and fit down and I appreciate them for that! Every item fit properly this month and my reasons for not keeping were my critical eye, owning something very similar already, or simply not wanting to spend the money on it. I should have skipped a box this month but forgot to reschedule it. Mostly due to the fact that I’m buying gifts for loved ones, sewing things for friends and family, and not really thinking of myself until after all final grades are submitted and accepted. This box also underwhelmed me in a big way and on multiple levels. I do love the bag I kept, it fits my laptop and any essentials I need during my days, but the clothing pieces largely underwhelmed my senses in general. I realize that not every month is a “total wow” and have accepted that. Let’s take a look.

Urban Expressions Amherst Multi-Zip Tote-$68

Stitch Fix #18-The Holidays {Domesticated Academic}

I really liked this. The color is bold, the blue is a beautiful hue and my socks are smart wool in case you were wondering. Seriously, even though it was a bit overcast/cloudy the day I took pics, this bag was roomy, has many pockets to fit extra things, and is a really great shape for my laptop (mac) to slide into vertically. I had been asking for a new bag and haven’t quite hit the “let’s spend all of my grocery money for a month on a fancy Fossil or Kate Spade” bag mentality yet, so this will fill in that gap quite well. I get sick of basic black all of the time and this is bright and cheerful without being obnoxious and will look professional barring any major accidents on my part. The lining is a sharp vertical stripe and the zipper pulls are long, maybe too long, but adequate for my life.

Market & Spruce Talena Side Zipper Knit Top-$48

Stitch Fix #18-The Holidays {Domesticated Academic}

I liked this shirt. I loved the beautiful teal color and the boat neck it had. The zipper created some really nice rucching on the side that was very flattering on me. I LOVED the 3/4 sleeves on this. I already own something very similar in cut/style/color so I could not justify buying another shirt so similar. It was a bit thin and would have made a great layering piece. I could see myself wearing it over a crisp collared shirt or with a cardigan and chunky scarf.

Gilli Kelsey Skirt-$54

Stitch Fix #18-The Holidays {Domesticated Academic}

Stitch Fix #18-The Holidays {Domesticated Academic}

This fit ‘ok’ for me. I’m not a big fan of skirts in general and the algorithm should be picking that up, but it’s not. The elastic waist on this made it super comfortable and it would be a flattering piece because of the pattern and cut. The black and white would have made it a great staple to pair with multiple color tops, tights, booties or wear in spring with sandals. I didn’t get a warm, fuzzy feeling about it and then  I realized it had already shown up ripped or never sewn properly to the elastic. I would not have kept it anyway and hope SF sees this and pulls it so it doesn’t get sent out again.

41Hawthorn Yasmine French Terry Blazer-$78

Stitch Fix #18-The Holidays {Domesticated Academic}

This was a sharp blazer and I’m a big fan of the terry cloth. So big of a fan that I own the moto jacket that I purchased in November, 2014 and am still wearing it. In fact, the day this box came, I was wearing it over another stitch fix piece, the 41 Hawthorn Kassidy Wrap Dress, and it was a super classy outfit with a little edge from the jacket. I paired it with black leggings and short bootie boots. I will say that this fabric washes and wears really well so if you get this piece and you’re debating the fabric, it holds up. I’ve washed my moto jacket several times (every 2-3 times wearing or after I spill) and it has not faded, shrunk, or lost its’ fit. I kept a blazer last month from my box so I couldn’t rationalize doing it to a blazer that I already owned the edgier big sister to.

Papermoon Newberg Lace Front Panel Knit Top-$58

Stitch Fix #18-The Holidays {Domesticated Academic}

I really loved the lace detail on this but when I put it on, it was very sheer. I was not expecting that and it somehow turned me off. This fit well and was a beautiful top. The lace lays in a flattering way, slimming you and the piece was tailored well. Just not for me this month.

Stitch Fix has been a great service for me. I can honestly admit that I’ve cut down on purchasing clothes in general and when I am at Target, I’ll think, “no, a box is coming soon” before I spend money on stuff I won’t wear or just wear a few times. I can honestly say I wear the crap out of my stitch fix pieces. I get compliments on them frequently and the clothes are always interesting and not things I would normally purchase. If you’d like to give it a try, you can use my link https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/3924112

No pressure either way. Stitch Fix doesn’t compensate me. I pay the $20 styling fee each month and appreciate what they send me.

Leave a Reply

